We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vinopolis

No.1 Bank End, London SE1 9BU, England (London Bridge)
+44 20 7940 8300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #383 of 646 Activities in London
Type: Classes/Workshops
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Wine tasting
Owner description: Welcome to Vinopolis, an inimitable wine tasting experience tucked away within beautiful Victorian railway arches, a stone's throw from Borough... more » Owner description: Welcome to Vinopolis, an inimitable wine tasting experience tucked away within beautiful Victorian railway arches, a stone's throw from Borough Market... With eight tasting and education zones and more than 100 wines, spirits and Champagne to taste, you are sure to find something you love at Vinopolis. Do you like crisp and dry wines or prefer more powerful and robust flavours? Chat to our experts and find out more about your own individual taste profile on our interactive machines, sampling at your leisure! Before or after the wine experience, feel free to stop by one of our five onsite bars and restaurants for a bite to eat, or visit Laithwaite's wine shop and the Whisky Exchange to pick up a bottle of your favourite find. Did you know? Vinopolis also has eight fantastic event spaces that can be hired for corporate or private use. « less
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    127
    60
    72
    98
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 NEW

I went to Vinopolis a number of years ago and really enjoyed it. However this latest trip (with a group of work colleagues) was truly terrible. We had a 15 minute cartoon intro / introduction to wine tasting which was patronising and uninformative. And then it got worse; the wine tasting areas are equipped with vending machines which is very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
36 attraction reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

I attended the Vinopolis for a conference today. It has an enormous amount of space, well suited to a 300 plus person event. Handy location as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

Came here as part of a business meeting and had a booking which lasted about 90 minutes. The guy 'teaching' us, Mark I think, was friendly, informative and happy to answer our questions. The downside was that the venue is cavernous and we were the only people in there, so there was very little atmosphere. I've been to lots of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

I really wish I'd read the reviews of Vinopolis before I went but like many others I had visited a few years ago and had an amazing time. I knew they had spent a lot of money refurbishing the place and was looking forward to seeing the new "improved" venue. It was terrible. The 15 minute wine introduction as you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coconut Creek, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

My wife and I are not wine connoisseurs but we have been to wine tastings and this was the worst one we've ever gone to. There was no food offered or available to purchase to clean one's palate between tastings. Some of the wines were empty. Some of the wines were terrible. The U.K. is obviously not known for growing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We were bought a "wine tasting" experience at Vinopolis as a gift and were really looking forward to it and went as a large group. We were really disappointed by the experience, as others have said you get a short talk about how to taste wine in an auditorium after watching a rather dull cartoon about the history of wine,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Assistant at Vinopolis, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with the experience. We integrated the Enomatic machines in the Wine Tasting Experience in order to preserve the quality of the wines and to serve them at the right temperature. We’re disappointed to hear you didn't get chance to talk to one of our wine experts... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Had the cheese and wine tasting experience purchased as a Birthday gift. However would have hoped for a better selection of wines and cheeses. Six small pieces of cheese on a slate, with six V small glasses of wine, (although one was actually whisky). Presenter although fairly knowledgeable, seemed more interested to hear back that her pairings had been successful,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Assistant at Vinopolis, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry to hear you were a bit disappointed with our Cheese and Wine Masterclass. We appreciate your comments and we have passed them the to the Wine Experience team and they are reviewing the current masterclass. More

Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

A complete and utter rip-off. Unintelligible presentation, followed by wine dispensed in a size that I would estimate was about 30ml at most, ie two gulps. At about £2.50 a credit, this scales up to about £14 a glass of 175ml, for the cheapest wine. Save your money, by a good bottle of wine, and enjoy at home, and save... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Assistant at Vinopolis, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your recent visit to Vinopolis. The wines on the experience are chosen to be wines you might not normally taste from across the world, some of which are quite unique. It is designed to be a taste experience where you can also gain advice and recommendations from our wine experts. More

Langenthal, Schweiz
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
5 attraction reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Vinopolis is part museum, part educational institution, part vineyard. It is a self-paced, entry-level course in oenology for some. For others it is a self-paced wine-tasting. It is a genius concept which should be copied and implemented all over the world, not only for wine, but for many other subjects. I will return here and bring friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Assistant at Vinopolis, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review! We really appreciate your comments and we are glad to hear you enjoyed the experience. We hope to see you and your friends soon. Check our website if you are interested in our upcoming events – from Comedy Night to Live Music Vault! More

UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We last visited in 2011when we had a great time and learnt loads from the amazing staff so thought we would come back to try and refine our palates. The introduction was the same however only with a white wine which was disappointing as we are mainly red drinkers. It would be great to have a choice and discuss both.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Assistant at Vinopolis, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your last visit to Vinopolis. The wine tasting experience has changed to allow visitors to explore each zone at their leisure and sample a choice of wines. As one of our hosts explained you on the wine experience, the Enomatic machines were introduced to store the wine at the optimum... More

Travelers who viewed Vinopolis also viewed

 

Been to Vinopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage Vinopolis?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing