We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vinopolis

Address: No.1 Bank End, London SE1 9BU, England (London Bridge)
Phone Number: +44 20 7940 8300
Website
Improve this listing
51%
Ranked #673 of 1,160 Activities in London
Type: Classes/Workshops, Sightseeing Tours
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Wine tasting
Owner description: Welcome to Vinopolis, a wine tasting experience tucked away within beautiful Victorian railway...
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator
More attraction details
Attraction details
Type: Classes/Workshops, Sightseeing Tours
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Wine tasting
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Wed 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thu - Fri 2:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Owner description: Welcome to Vinopolis, a wine tasting experience tucked away within beautiful Victorian railway arches, a stone's throw from Borough Market... With eight tasting and education zones and more than 100 wines, spirits and Champagne to taste, you are sure to find something you love at Vinopolis. Do you like crisp and dry wines or prefer more powerful and robust flavours? Chat to our experts and find out more about your own individual taste profile on our interactive machines, sampling at your leisure! Before or after the wine experience, feel free to stop by one of our five onsite bars and restaurants for a bite to eat, or visit Laithwaite's wine shop and the Whisky Exchange to pick up a bottle of your favourite find. Did you know? Vinopolis also has eight fantastic event spaces that can be hired for corporate or private use.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator

Hotels near Vinopolis

Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    139
    69
    86
    107
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 NEW

We had a great time at Vinopolis a few years ago so returned this weekend to celebrate two birthdays. It was a great disappointment. The saving grace was the intro to the event by Robbie who gave an informative and witty presentation. After that it was downhill, wines now dispensed by machines, giving minimal tots! rather than by interesting staff.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

For anybody (like me) who went to Vinopolis a few years ago and thoroughly enjoyed having a wide selection of wines poured (by informed 'people'), had decadent gin cocktails served in a lovely separate room and was drawn into a fabulous (and very tempting) whisky bar you will now be VERY disappointed. Tiny measures of wine are dispensed through a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 NEW

I went to wine tasting a few years ago here and had a wonderful time. However went today with friends and totally changed. Wine is now dispensed from machines, no one explaining the wines as before very impersonal and boring atmosphere. The measures r really small a lot of bottles were empty & had to wait for someone to fill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 NEW

DONT buy it through a voucher scheme as it's more expensive! We spent £90 for 2 people to do the cocktail master class. You make 4 cocktails to share between 2 people. There are between 20-30 people in a session and 2 people walking round helping, but it was very difficult to hear them and was easier to follow the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015 NEW

We really thought Vinopolis Wine Tasting Experience was awful and we didn't stay too long. Probably less than an hour. Cold, clinical and boring. After a brief presentation one is left with a glass to do a "self-guided tour" and one has to take ones own "tasters" from dispensing machines and stand around them reading signs. Terrible lack of atmosphere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Assistant at Vinopolis, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience at Vinopolis. As you mention from our other review responses. our tasting measures are 25ml. Vinopolis is a taste experience and your ticket price includes entry to the experience, the How to Taste session and on the self-guided experience itself our expert hosts are on... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Had my experience been called a basic introduction to whisky I would have no complaint. As however it was called a whisky "masterclass" I was extremely disappointed. I found the choice of whiskies on offer banal and frankly cheap. As for the accompanying presentation there were some interesting slides but they were far and few between and it would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Assistant at Vinopolis, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the Whisky Masterclass. These sessions are aimed at people who wish to learn more about a particular subject/drink so apologies if you felt it was too basic and didn't enjoy the whiskies. Our maximum capacity for our masterclasses is 50 and due to the popularity of this... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015 via mobile

My visit to Vinopolis was fantastic. The staff were all very courteous and helpful. I enjoyed the 'how to taste the wine' introductory talk given by an italian host. It was great to have a simple step by step guide before being let loose in the wine dispensing emporium. I tried lots of new wines and enjoyed some delicious cheeses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Assistant at Vinopolis, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and we're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. Sign up to our newsletter or check out the What's On section of our website to stay up to date with special offers and events and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We visited Vinopolis as a group of four. After a short talk about how to taste the wine by a very enthusiastic and fun Vincent you are let free to taste some wines. We were a bit unsure what to expect and you are able to explore several areas with a variety of wines. Make sure you register your details... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Assistant at Vinopolis, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. We’re glad to hear the experience exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed trying some new wines thanks to one of our most charismatic wine hosts, Vincent. We’re pleased to hear you would recommend the experience and we definitely invite you to come back soon – we've got some great upcoming events you shouldn't miss such... More 

Mijas, Spain
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
10 attraction reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We received the Classic wine tasting experience as a gift and had a really fun afternoon. We had a 20 minute talk about wine tasting which as regular wine drinkers we really appreciated. Anastasia our guide was very good and clearly had a massive enthusiasm for her subject. We then had a token each with 12 credits which you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Assistant at Vinopolis, responded to this review

Thank you very much for submitting your review, we are very pleased to know you had such a wonderful time at Vinopolis and Anastasia’s enthusiasm for wine was conveyed to you. We also appreciate you enjoyed the fact you can choose your pace and freedom to explore the venue at your own leisure. We would love to see you soon,... More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015 via mobile

I visited Vinopolis along with 11 family and friends. We all came away and said the same thing. Great experience, fantastic relaxed atmosphere, really nice setting but just above average wine. Don't get me wrong the selection of wine was broad and the information on offer was great. But we all came away saying we wouldn't buy a single bottle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Assistant at Vinopolis, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We’re pleased you all had a great experience at Vinopolis in your recent visit. We are sorry to hear you found our selection of wines as average. At Vinopolis 65% of our wines have a retail value of £8-20, a 30% are worth £21-35 and we also feature iconic wines which range between £36-100 retail... More 

Travelers who viewed Vinopolis also viewed

 

Been to Vinopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vinopolis staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?