We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Academy of Arts

Address: Burlington House | Piccadilly, London W1J 0BD, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
Phone Number: 020 7300 8000
Website
Improve this listing
84%
Ranked #118 of 918 Attractions in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Educational Sites, Art Museums, Museums, Sights & Landmarks
Owner description: Founded in 1768, this thriving center of artistic excellence is the oldest fine arts institution in...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Type: Educational Sites, Art Museums, Museums, Sights & Landmarks
Hours:
Fri 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Sat - Thu 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Owner description: Founded in 1768, this thriving center of artistic excellence is the oldest fine arts institution in Britain, whose exhibitions attract over a million people each year.

Hotels near Royal Academy of Arts

Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    179
    54
    19
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saintfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 NEW

I love this gallery and especially when the masters are in town...loved the themes and the paintings along with those whom Rubens influenced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

Going to the Royal Academy is a class thing. Witness the Summer Exhibition. The pictures are 90% dross, they make your gums bleed with their awfulness but everyone goes. Happily there are other things during the year which are worth a visit. Currently this applies to the Allen Jones showing in the RAs shed round the corner rather than the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 NEW

Today we went to two great exhibitions - the Giovanni Battista Moroni was really wonderful. His depiction of faces looking at you was fantastic plus the superb fabrics of the day. It was quite busy - almost too many people in a fairly small space and often people would walk into your view & block the art. It needs fewer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 attraction reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 NEW

There is nowhere better in London for appreciators of art in all its many forms. Although it's most famous for the annual (and historic) Summer Exhibition it also hosts 2 other large shows per year in its astonishing main galleries - 'Rubens and his Legacy' opening to the public on 24th January (despite a 10th January reviewer claiming to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 NEW

Great exhibition, more sculpture on canvas than a paintings. Some would say most were rather dull and the subject matter depressing but hey this is pretty amazing stuff. The venue of course made it all the better, although I am not too sure about the wood kiosk ticketing office, being the RA I would have thought that it would at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidstone
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 NEW

If you are expecting a large Rubens exhibition then you will be disappointed. There are two or three really wonderful paintings by Rubens but the body of the show is work by other artists strung together on loose themes. The premise is that Rubens was the influence that generated their work, this is most cases is a very tenuous link... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Rubens and His Legacy exhibition at the Royal Academy of Arts. As you mention the exhibition focuses not simply on Rubens but also on the impact he had on generations of artists. The exhibition includes works by Constable, Picasso, and Van Dyck to name but a few. Rubens legacy is celebrated by looking... More 

Wantage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

My daughter & I enjoyed going to the exhibition. The staff were helpful and friendly throughput our visit. We had lunch in the restaurant. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant. Thanks for a great morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Having visited Royal Academy of Arts many times, saddens me to say, agree with what others are saying, I went to along 1st Jan. asked the customer service a simple question, in a polite manner, no need to reply in such a way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this review

Thank you for your loyalty in being a frequent visitor to the Royal Academy of Arts in Piccadilly. Strong customer service is a critical support to our excellent exhibition programme and we continually review our visitor experience offer. I am sorry that you have not been made to feel welcome on your recent visit. If you have the time, would... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

The customer service at this gallery is offhand to the point of rudeness. I wanted to go on one of their free tours of the Fine Rooms, so I called ahead yesterday (as instructed on their website) to check that it was running. It was, so today I made a special trip to the gallery for the 3pm tour. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting the Royal Academy of Arts.The RA strives to provide a high standard of customer care, as such I was so disappointed to hear of your experience. I am currently speaking with my colleagues to understand what happened regarding the confusion over the talk being cancelled. I will also investigate the manner in which you were treated.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Went to the Summer Exhibition at the RA. 90% of what was on show was rubbish, and the crowds were almost impenetrable. If the RA management set out to be controversial, I suppose they have succeeded, because the show raises serious questions about what art is and what it is not.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Royal Academy of Arts also viewed

 

Been to Royal Academy of Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Royal Academy of Arts staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?