We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Academy of Arts

#174 of 2,346 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
Address: Burlington House | Piccadilly, London W1J 0BD, England
Phone Number: 020 7300 8000
Website
Today
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Fri 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Sat - Thu 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Description: Founded in 1768, this thriving center of artistic excellence is the oldest...
Founded in 1768, this thriving center of artistic excellence is the oldest fine arts institution in Britain, whose exhibitions attract over a million people each year.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 637 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 340
    Excellent
  • 196
    Very good
  • 62
    Average
  • 22
    Poor
  • 17
    Terrible
Grand cafe amazing decor and great food too

Was pleasantly surprised by the grand cafe located inside royal academy of arts, quite hidden behind the main staircase. The cafe has beautiful murals on the wall and the food was... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 19, 2015
Autrri C
Add Photo Write a Review

637 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 NEW

Was pleasantly surprised by the grand cafe located inside royal academy of arts, quite hidden behind the main staircase. The cafe has beautiful murals on the wall and the food was surprisingly very good. We had the coronation bruschetta which was fresh, lightly seasoned and filled with chicken. My partner has the fishermans pie with salad which made us realise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015 NEW

I took my daughter and granddaughter to see the Richard Diebenkorn exhibition were we are Friends of the R A. We decided to have an early lunch in the Grand Cafe before going to the exhibition. WHAT A DISASTER ! We had , without doubt the worst meal I ve ever had anywhere in my life, and also service and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this review

Dear Lawrie, thank you for visiting The Royal Academy of Arts. I'm very sorry to hear of your experience at the Grand Cafe, it's certainly not the kind of experience we would expect any of our visitors to have. If you would like to email your contact details to comment@royalacademy.org.uk I can make sure that the RA catering team get... More 

Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015 NEW

Went here today for a treat. What a waste of money. We paid £9.50 for a tiny, dried out Fisherman's Pie, and a bunch of salad leaves from a bag. My dad had a coronation chicken bruschetta, which was £6.50 and also served with bagged salad and needed a steak knife to cut through the bread. It is a clear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for visiting The Royal Academy of Arts. I'm very sorry that your had such a disappointing experience in the RA Grand Cafe, and that it affected your whole visit. It's really important that the whole of your time here at the RA is at the same high standard so if you would like to email your details to... More 

Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

I always try to pop in and have a wander when in town and have also bought advance tickets for exhibitions. The halls are very cool and restful, the art wonderful, and it's a great place to spend an hour or several.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Love visiting the royal academy ways interesting exhibitions taking place all year round and usually inexpensive too

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
241 attraction reviews
371 helpful votes 371 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

I last visited this classy institution on April 1st, to see the blockbuster 'Rubens and His Legacy' exhibition. Although only a small proportion of the works on view were by Rubens the show was an excellent one and a chance to see many paintings which never usually travel. The show closed on 10th April but the catalogue is still available... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 via mobile

Most recently popped in for the Rubens exbo. Was expecting to see more curvy ladies so was a little disappointed although it was still very good. Has a very good standing display as well. The building is wonderful and just walking round is a pleasure. My only grouch is that the very popular exbos like the Gainsborough are so crowded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Nothing to dislike! The RA is a beautiful aesthetic environment in which to dwell on art… The Diebenkorn exhibition is relatively small, but the Ocean Park canvases are sublime.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Loved the Van Gogh exposition, called "Letters to Theo", just wonderful. It was the reason I was drawn to him as an artist.

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Museum staff are in the customer service business and should be able to courteously answer a question. Instead, one RA gallery guard was rude and refused to even answer a question, even when it was pleasantly rephrased 4 times. Similar behavior by other staff indicate poor management at the RA, where arrogance and haughtiness outweigh politeness. On the plus side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear of your experience at the Royal Academy of Arts. I am concerned to hear that you were made to feel so uncomfortable and unwelcome. Our Visitors and Friends are at the centre of our organisation, and without them we cannot succeed. If you have the time, please email me directly on kate.topham@royalacademy.org.uk. I would... More 

Travelers who viewed Royal Academy of Arts also viewed

 

Been to Royal Academy of Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Royal Academy of Arts and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Academy of Arts staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?

Staying in Mayfair

Neighborhood Profile
Mayfair
Set beside some of London's best parks and home to world-class galleries, luxurious hotels, and famed thoroughfares, the ultra upscale Mayfair is one of London's most exclusive haunts. Here the shopping is haute, the dining is exquisite, and the nightlife is vibrant. A casual stroll through the area’s chic streets will reveal that Michelin stars and chauffeured cars are practically the norm here. Even if you're on a tight budget, this exceptionally well connected swath of Central London is worth exploring, if only for the chance to take a peak at the goings on of upper crust English society.
Explore this neighborhood