We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Acorn Farm

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Depot Road | Kirkby, Liverpool L33 3AR, England
Phone Number: +44 151 548 1524
Website
Today
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Description: Acorn Farm is a visitor attraction offering a fun and educational day out...
Acorn Farm is a visitor attraction offering a fun and educational day out in Kirkby, Liverpool. The farm park offers lots of animals to see and feed, two fantastic play areas, small animal petting and horse rides during weekends and school holidays, a cafe serving delicious home-cooked specials and desserts, a farm shop selling toys and gifts, refreshments and free-range home produced meat, eggs and goats milk ice cream and a plant sales area. The farm also runs a day service for local people with learning disabilities and also hosts Riding for the Disabled lessons on Friday mornings. Admission:Adults £2.50Children £1.50 (under 12 months free of charge)Admission prices correct as of 1st March 2012.Groups of 15 or more must book a guided tour, for which there is an additional charge.Small animal petting sessions and horse rides are available every weekend and during KMBC school holidays - please see our website for times. Petting costs £1 per person and horse rides are £2 per ride.Acorn Farm is a working farm as well as a visitor attraction and sells home-produced free-range eggs, beef, pork and lamb. We also produce our own goats milk ice cream in a wide range of delicious flavours. Special events and activities are often held at the farm, including our Halloween Party and Christmas Grotto. Acorn Farm also run an extensive educational programme, which consists of incubator hire, Animobile mobile farm and guided tours.We have a birthday party room available to hire for £40 and also run an animal sponsorship programme - the perfect gift for any animal lover or fan of the farm!(All prices displayed are liable to alteration without notice. Please call us for prices and availability. Thank you!)
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 138 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 81
    Excellent
  • 48
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Great family day out

I brought my daughter to Acorn Farm for years and now I bring my grandsons. The farm is an ideal place for families with small children to visit. There's always plenty of animals... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 23, 2015
Paul H
,
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I brought my daughter to Acorn Farm for years and now I bring my grandsons. The farm is an ideal place for families with small children to visit. There's always plenty of animals on show and the arnt caged in, with plenty of room in the enclosures. Animal petting is available along with horse riding at a small extra cost.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcornFarm, Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

Hi there - thank you for your great review. It sounds like you had a really nice time! Hope to see you back again soon :) More 

Liverpool
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

well we went to acorn farm today 21.05.2015, and we thought it was farmtastic, only £2.50 for adults and £1.50, the bags of feed for 50p really make the day, there is every farm animal and surprises like meercats, the play area and picnic area is impressive and the shop is reasonable priced too

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcornFarm, Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your lovely review. I'm glad you think our farm is farmtastic as well! Hope to see you soon :) More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Had an amazing day. We started the day off by going to the local "Kirkby town centre" where we went to a cafe and had a lovely breakfast. We then drove the 5 minute journey to the farm. Lots of animals to see and the kids were abkle to feed them. Very cheap day out and great value for money.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcornFarm, Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

Hi there - thank you so much for your great review! I am really happy you and your kids had a nice time. Hope to see you soon! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We visited acorn farm for Mother's Day. We had a brilliant day out which was cheap as chips. Well worth going in to the half hour, small animal petting area for a small charge. We had our lunch in the cafe. It gets busy in there at lunch times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcornFarm, Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your lovely review, I am so happy you came and enjoyed yourselves. Hope to see you again :) More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Been here on a number of times. Great for a low cost family day out, Cheap too. Lovely café on site that is cheap enough. Picnic facilities if you wish to keep the cost down. We have bought some beautiful hanging baskets here in the past.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcornFarm, Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your review! I am so glad you enjoy our farm and our cafe, hope to see you back again :) More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 attraction reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Took our 8 year old girls there today. Very good value to get in. The girls really enjoyed the farm. Good selection of animals (including meerkats!). They enjoyed feeding the animals very much. Enjoyable meal in the cafe also. Definitely recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AcornFarm, Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

Hi there - thank you for your kind review. It sounds like you had a good time! We hope to see you again :) More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015 via mobile

Went here with the not ever knowing about the place or nothing and it's very good day out with the family and seeing all the animals, ideally if u live close or drive....we got taxi from where we live and it was £8 there and back and looking on spending at least £30-£50 there so make sure u do everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcornFarm, Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

Hi, thanks so much for your lovely review! We are glad you had a good time with your family. Hope to see you again soon :) More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Visited with my granddaughter, not a lot going on but again think it may pick up in the summer, quite a few animals to see, you can buy bags of feed, so you get to feed the chickens, goats eat. They have baby chicks and piglets, it is advisable to wear welling tons as this is a farm and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcornFarm, Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

Hi there - thank you so much for your review. I am really glad your granddaughter enjoyed feeding the animals and our food in the cafe. We hope to see you again - we do have animal petting and horse riding available on weekends and during the upcoming Easter holidays (3rd April - 19th April), which your granddaughter may enjoy!... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015 via mobile

Went yesterday for my little boys first birthday, what a disappointment. My little boy came home with little red bite marks on his face, got talking to my sister and she said exactly the same thing happened to my niece!! Really scruffy place and there are hardly any animals....absolute joke of a farm.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AcornFarm, Manager at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Acorn Farm. Unfortunately as an outdoor based attraction at this time of year[ at the end of a long winter] the farm site does not look attractive. The grass hasn't started growing and the bulbs are not in flower yet. Additionally all of our sheep were due to lamb... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 attraction reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

A great fun day out. The children lived it. We particularly loved the petting area. Acorn Farm has improved list since we last went many years ago.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcornFarm, Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

Hi there - thanks so much for your lovely review. I am so glad you had a nice time, and hope to see you again soon :) More 

Travelers who viewed Acorn Farm also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Acorn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Acorn Farm staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?