We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Life Blackpool

The Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5AA, England
+44 1253 621258
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 58 Attractions in Blackpool
Type: Aquariums
Owner description: Showcasing more than 50 dazzling displays and more than 2,000 spectacular aquatic creatures including tropical sharks, colourful reef fish, octopus,... more » Owner description: Showcasing more than 50 dazzling displays and more than 2,000 spectacular aquatic creatures including tropical sharks, colourful reef fish, octopus, rays and sea horses, SEA LIFE Blackpool is the perfect way to experience the wonders of underwater life without getting wet. Explore the magic of the world's oceans and journey from the coast and sandy shallows of the great British shoreline to the equatorial rainforest of the Amazon and into the tropical depths of the ocean. « less
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    244
    173
    74
    51
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, W Yorks
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 NEW

I visited with my boyfriend and we both loved it! So many species to see and the staff were lovely (shout outs to Dave and Becky!) I'm pleased we paid the extra few pounds to go behind the scenes to see the babies too (although it's a shame one family couldn't quite control their little girl who was being a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

We visited as part of a package we booked it included the enterance to the tower and circus and worked out to about £25 per person good value the kids loved looking at the different fish i enjoyed it to its one of the biggest sealife centers we have been to it was a bit dull in there but i... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenn N, General Manager at Sea Life Blackpool, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon Thank You More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Visited here with my four year old in september nice not to have the crowds of the summer season and managed to get around and see everything without hoards of people blocking the tanks can imagine it would be a nightmare in season. I bought the big 7 attraction ticket which is a great saving and certainly wouldn't pay full... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenn N, General Manager at Sea Life Blackpool, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for review. I am pleased your daughter enjoyed her visit and liked the Seahorses, We are extremely proud of our successful breeding programme with Seahorses here and like the fact people like all different species. With regards to Big Daddy he is in the Guiness Book of Workd Records this year as the largest marine crustacean and... More

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Spent a few hours in a very windy and wet Blackpool so decided to visit the sealife centre, Didn't have to wait long to get in although it was busy you could move around quite easily and our granddaughter could see most things without being lifted up all the time, there was plenty to see and it was clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenn N, General Manager at Sea Life Blackpool, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. I am pleased your grand daughter enjoyed it and we hope to see you again soon Thank You More

York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 attraction reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Most Sea life centre's are similar in layout, so it's the effort and effect that make a difference. This one is way too dull as in it's also too dark for most of the way round, the tanks are not as clean as they could be inside or out and the space in parts of the centre are far too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenn N, General Manager at Sea Life Blackpool, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. I appreciate your feedback and am disappointed you felt the centre was claustrophobic, we actively monitor the volume in the cente to reduce crowding and try to immerse all our guests in an underwater world so they feel the full exeprience. This is done with lighting, sound and technology throughout the centre to provide... More

Winsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

If your with the kids this is a must. It takes just over an hour if your in a hurry or 2 if you take your time. You must see the big crab! Boy he would feed 10 people

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenn N, General Manager at Sea Life Blackpool, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and liked Big Daddy - the biggest crab in the world. We hope to see you again soon Thank You More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We had a couple of family groups (eight of us) and it cost £112 so not a cheap few hours. Yes there is a 10% discount for families but that is still a big investment for something that is not a whole day out. I enjoyed our time there, we were able to move around and although it was busy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

The actually centre was amazing an the photos we got after was funny! Only down side was behind the scenes we paid extra for was quite dull to be honest we all crowed into a small room to he shown the lighten of the centre and 2 fish they just had in I expected a bit more but oh well.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenn N, General Manager at Sea Life Blackpool, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback and i am pleased you enjoyed the centre. With regards to our behind the scenes tour we have lots of requests from people to see how the whole centre works including filtration, food, water quality, lighting and we try to focus on this information alongside any animals we have in quarantine at the time.... More

Leek, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Only went as it's free with our merlin passes. We only spent about an hour in there. As it was a little busy. It has a better display for the sharks than Scarborough . But I wouldn't pay the full price. The kids seem to enjoy it more. Having just visited the one in Scarborough it did seem like I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenn N, General Manager at Sea Life Blackpool, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased we provided an escape for you. With reards to our centre we have over 50 displays whihc display more than 2000 animals. To make us differnet form the rest you can see Europe's only pair of Guitar Bowmouth Sharks here, a massive Humphead wrasse and the Biggest crab in the world... More

Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Visited with my boyfriend, my best friend, her husband, and their daughter. Used the half price walkers vouchers to get in, so reasonable here. Tickets last all day, so go in the morning, get the feed and talk times, and come back! Halfway round, I was desperate for a drink. A 500ml bottle of water in the shop was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jenn N, General Manager at Sea Life Blackpool, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback and i am pleased you enjoyed the majority of your visit. I have checked and all our bottles of drinks are the stanrd size which we charge £1.50 with exception of slush. Our prices are competitive with other attractions hwoever we don't stop people bringing thier own drinks in and have made tickets valid... More

Travelers who viewed Sea Life Blackpool also viewed

 

Been to Sea Life Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage Sea Life Blackpool?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing