We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Ecclerigg | Windermere LA23 1LQ, Windermere, England
Phone Number: 015394 46601
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 390 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 166
    Excellent
  • 110
    Very good
  • 52
    Average
  • 23
    Poor
  • 39
    Terrible
Most recent review
Well worth a few hours there

Great play area & the nature trails are fabulous. We sat and watched a wood pecker in the tree for ages. Our little girl took a pony ride £12 for 20mins which went down to the... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 22, 2015
Jessyrabbit
Add Photo Write a Review

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015 NEW

Great play area & the nature trails are fabulous. We sat and watched a wood pecker in the tree for ages. Our little girl took a pony ride £12 for 20mins which went down to the lake and along the lake path ... She thoroughly enjoyed it & the ponies were lovely. A great afternoon out to keep the kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The activity centre and park which are free to use were very good and clean. We would of liked to use the treetop climbing equipment but they were a little expensive for us. Foilled in a bit of time before using the "boat stop" which was located on site to Ambleside

Was this review helpful? Yes
manchester,
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We visited around New Year with our 10 & 13 year old daughters - they LOVED the treetop trek and the huge zip-wire at the end! While they trekked for a few hours we walked our dog around the beautiful grounds before retiring to the cafe for lovely coffee and cake. We loved it so much we repeated the hour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We visited Brockhole during the recent half-term holiday. Only the National Park could dream up the idea of making visitors pay to park their car in order to visit their Visitor Centre! What a way to encourage visitors! But then the Park knows it has a captive audience. The once-splendid house and gardens looked shabby and poorly maintained. The exhibition... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Lorraine B, Guest Relations Manager at Brockhole Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your February Half Term visit. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Your comments are numerous and I don’t propose to respond to each. Our website sets our what we offer on site at which time of year, and it varies dramatically between winter and summer, and we do have activities to... More 

Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Great. We went on the treetop trek and that was fabulous, great safety measures and enjoyable. The adventure playground was also great and the lakeshore view and fact that you can get the ferry is also fab. The only negative this is the outrageous cost in the cafe. I bought a cup of coffee and a sandwich and it came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
north yorkshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Had a lovely day here. The kids enjoyed the free play park and the new nets in the trees look good fun.... A must for our next visit. Went pony trekking which was £12 and our daughter loved it. Plenty of toilets and a cafe on site.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Great visitor centre with small soft play for tots. Good outside adventure park. New treetop nets but thought this was a little expensive at £12.50 per child!! Hence we didn't do that. Cafe fab.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North West
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Nice brochure advertising FREE facilities but once you get there all the main activities are costed individually. I'd be happy to pay one fee IF I knew the costs in advance. Clever marketing though!! On top of that, they have the most complex parking charges ever invented. No staff to explain, the meters are everywhere and the people who arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lorraine B, Guest Relations Manager at Brockhole Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Brockhole, the Lake District Visitor Centre. We are naturally disappointed to hear you found our parking system so confusing and that there was no on to ask for help. We frequently have meeters and greeters in our car park to help visitors with our new system, but it may be... More 

Uphall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We had a fantastic day doing the treetop trek, playing on the tree nets and squeezed in some pony trekking too. Fantastic day out and enjoyed by both my wife and I and our two girls (12 & 8). A special thanks to Ben on the treetop trek for helping my youngest who was a little scared during the trek.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Extremely beautiful setting, lots of space and things to do. However, some of the activities very pricey. Our kids went on tree top nets which was great fun but really expensive for what it was. Next time we'll just use the play park, which is free, although it's difficult for the kids to see the nets, which are right next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers who viewed Brockhole Visitor Centre also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Brockhole Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brockhole Visitor Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?