We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens

Dalemain, Penrith CA11 0HB, England
+44 17684 86450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 29 attractions in Penrith
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens
Owner description: Dalemain has been the home of the Hasell-McCosh Family for eleven generations. Here, visitors can discover and enjoy a fine mixture of Mediaeval,... more » Owner description: Dalemain has been the home of the Hasell-McCosh Family for eleven generations. Here, visitors can discover and enjoy a fine mixture of Mediaeval, Tudor & early Georgian architecture and Award Winning Gardens, richly planted with unusual combinations of flowers and shrubs. Highlights include the Rose Walk, Ancient Apple Trees, Tudor Knot Garden, Blue Himalayan Poppies, Earth Sculpture and Stumpery. Home to the International Marmalade Festival. Homemade food served in the Mediaeval Hall Tearoom, Historic Parkland with the Dacre Walk, Gift Shop with Antiques,Plant Sales, Special Events throughout the year & Group Bookings. Free parking. HHA/Christie's Garden of the Year Award 2013. « less
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    9
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 NEW via mobile

My recommendation: don't bother spending your money on this house. My friend and I went to visit Dalemain on a cold August morning. We were looking foreword to exploring the house. When we arrived. We both struggled to walk to the main entrance without getting sheep poo on our feet. It didn't bother us too much at the time, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 NEW

We decided to visit Dalemain while staying in Keswick for a few days. Unfortunately we felt quite ripped off! There were minimal rooms open for display, so few it felt as though the owners were having a lend! The top bedroom (children's room) looked like a storeroom full of junk! We finished the tour fairly quickly and moved onto the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelso, Scotland
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
92 attraction reviews
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 NEW

Called in here on a wet day thinking it would be a good place to visit. Car park was open to sheep and there were water-soaked sheep droppings everywhere making it impossible not to get footwear contaminated. Welcome was warm and friendly but only limited number of rooms open and no overall theme, just an eclectic mix of historical periods,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston Spa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 attraction reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

There is no access to the house. The rooms that are open are not well maintained - exhibits very poorly displayed and far too many photographs of not very interesting people. Overpriced and disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I visited Dalemain 4 August with my mother and we were really disappointed. We paid a similar entrance fee to visit Holker Hall gardens where we spent a good 3 hours looking around them. Dalemain in comparison was extremely poor, small in comparison to Holker Hall. A lot of the beds looked really straggly and a vast amount of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Skelton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The gardens are not looking too good but I wonder if this is just because of the time of year. The house is interesting but not stunning. The rooms upstairs belonging to the maid was fascinating. I really liked the display of old photos and military items. The tearoom is very small and dark but as it is in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerDalemain, Manager at Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your afternoon at Dalemain and that you really liked the WW1 Exhibition. Dalemain are very pleased to be part of the 'Penrith Remembers' Centenary Programme of events for the Commemoration of World War 1. Best wishes Dalemain More

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We have visited Dalemain Mansion and its gardens on several occasions over the last few years and it is one of our favourite places in the Lake District. The gardens were looking lovely and we spent a pleasant afternoon reacquainting ourselves with its quiet pleasures. The house is both grand and homely at the same time giving the impression of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerDalemain, Manager at Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Dalemain like the many of 1,000's of visitors each year. We look forward to seeing you back at Dalemain next year. Best wishes Dalemain More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
159 attraction reviews
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We have been to Cumbria before and visited a number of historic homes in the area but not this one. The National Trust has a certain conformity and are a bigger organisation and I know that the privately owned houses struggle to maintain them. We bought our tickets and were told that they had shut for the guides to have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerDalemain, Manager at Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we appreciate any feedback we receive as we are always looking to enhance the visitors experience. Once again thank you for visiting Dalemain. More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very disappointed. Some interesting things, the Chinese room and the Tudor panelling & Jane Eyre was filmed there which they don't really publicise. Gardens are nice, but I wouldnt say spectacular, although I didn't see all of them (hay fever ). The rooms of the house tend to give the impression that they are filled with a lot of unrelated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerDalemain, Manager at Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Dalemain. We are sorry you felt disappointed by your visit, however we are pleased you enjoyed the Chinese room and Tudor panelling and we are sorry you did not get to see the all the gardens due to your hayfever. Best wishes Dalemain More

uk
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We went to see this house on the recommendations on their website including their statement that they won garden of the year 2013. We were disappointed to find a garden in semi disarray, paths difficult to walk due to overgrown plants, and rose bushes that hadn't appeared to be cut back for several seasons. The house did not have several... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerDalemain, Manager at Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Dalemain and for your feedback. Whilst we are disappointed you did not enjoy your visit to our old fashioned and natural gardens with a wonderful and incredible collection of plants, we do appreciate that the last 8 weeks of drought have been quite harsh on the plants. The rose bushes were cut back in Autumn 2013... More

Travelers who viewed Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens also viewed

 
Penrith, Lake District
Penrith, Lake District
 

Been to Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing