We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Redhills, Penrith CA11 0DQ, England
Phone Number: +44 1768 868000
Website
Today
10:00 am - 5:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 5:30 pm
Activities: Shopping, Dining
Description: Housed under a unique grass roof with a diverse programme of exhibitions...
Housed under a unique grass roof with a diverse programme of exhibitions, live streaming, film, family entertainment with a mix of shopping and dining experiences.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 218 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 55
    Excellent
  • 57
    Very good
  • 42
    Average
  • 31
    Poor
  • 33
    Terrible
Went to a ballet performance

We went to see a ballet which we enjoyed. Never been to the place but had driven past it, bit quirky but interesting. Some interesting shops and bough some good food items. Have... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 24, 2015
deukerens
,
Strahilovo
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Strahilovo
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
61 attraction reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

We went to see a ballet which we enjoyed. Never been to the place but had driven past it, bit quirky but interesting. Some interesting shops and bough some good food items. Have some good stuff on so worth a look to see what's n when in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windermere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 attraction reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We went here specifically to see the Herdwick photographic exhibition. Our visit was worth it just to see this. The photographs by Ian Lawson are wonderful - it was Herdy heaven! The exhibition was free and there was no charge for parking. We had a snack and drink in one of the cafes and the food was fine. I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

The Rheghed Centre is a great place to visit. I visited in the early days when the atmosphere was minimal but now it's buzzing with activity. Built in to the hillside it is deceptively large on the inside. There is a spiral walkway up through the floors. There is a particularly good local food deli on the entrance level floor,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Bars, cafes, shops, outdoor play area and the huge IMAX screen makes for a worthwhile visit. There is a theatre as well but did not enter this. The cinema is brilliant. The 3D IMAX presentations are superb, as indeed are the 2D. They have specially made presentations as well as mainstream and arthouse presentations. Recommend to use their website to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 attraction reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

As we had been staying close by we decided to pay a visit to the centre again. there is a big outdoor play area that costs £1.50 per child. We thought this was silly as you have to go inside and pay then come back out it isn't monitired and others just came in without paying. However £1.50 was well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestmorlandFamily, Manager at The Rheged Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit with us especially the delicious locally made ice cream. However we are sorry you were a little disappointed with the mochas and we will certainly pass your comments on to our catering team to look... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

I visited the Rheged Centre in its early days and was only mildly impressed. It seemed very quiet and not sure what it was there for. What a change now. It was busy with a vibrant air. There's a varied retail experience and a very good selection of eating places as well as a cinema and art galleries. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestmorlandFamily, Manager at The Rheged Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your return visit with us recently and also managed to sample some of the local food we serve in our Cafe. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards. The Rheged Team More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Last time we were up in Penrith we took in a visit to the Rheged centre. The place is hidden away and is like a tardis with cavernous room inside. When we went there were several art and craft exhibitions throughout the centre. With just a pound to enter most of the exhibitions we were surprised to see the quality... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestmorlandFamily, Manager at The Rheged Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. Rheged is hidden under a grass roof and is unique in that we have such with a wide variety of things to do and see here. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards. The Rheged Team. More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

I came to rheged for the food and therapy fair and ended up with my daughter painting a fairy in the kids area upstairs, there is something for all the family in one place and the displays are constantly changing

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestmorlandFamily, Manager at The Rheged Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are delighted that you & your daughter enjoyed your visit especially the pottery painting. We always have a good selection of activities & events for children during the school holidays. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards. The Rheged Team. More 

Lancashire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Lots do do and see and eat for adults and children. Unique underground building. Shops, cafes and restaurants as well as cinema, craft workshops, art galleries etc Especially good on a wet day, but worth a visit in any weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestmorlandFamily, Manager at The Rheged Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards. The Rheged Team. More 

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Very good for all the family with an imax cinema, exhibits, craft shops and themed events. Check what's on before you visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestmorlandFamily, Manager at The Rheged Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed some of the things Rheged has to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards. The Rheged Team. More 

Travelers who viewed The Rheged Centre also viewed

Penrith, Lake District
Penrith, Lake District
 

Been to The Rheged Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Rheged Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?