We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Station Road | Fitz Park, Keswick CA12 4NF, England
Phone Number: +44 17687 73263
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Description:

Fascinating Stories in a beautiful place!

Newly refurbished museum which...

Fascinating Stories in a beautiful place!

Newly refurbished museum which tells the

story of Keswick's landscape, history and

culture, plus activities, events and temporary exhibitions.

Wonderful cafe and facilities!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 103 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 58
    Excellent
  • 31
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Great rainy day venue

A small and compact museum, natural history or the area covered along with some social history and fabulous art. Although we came after the floods so part of the exhbition was... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 4 weeks ago
littlewigg1
,
MiRFIELD
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MiRFIELD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A small and compact museum, natural history or the area covered along with some social history and fabulous art. Although we came after the floods so part of the exhbition was closed it was still worth calling in - nice little cafe downsatairs, helping local people with disabilities.

Helpful?
Thank littlewigg1
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the museum. You might be interested to know that our 'Inspiring Adventure' exhibition celebrating the life and work of local explorer, artist and teacher, Tom Price, is now extended until March 6th 2016. Please continue to check our website and Facebook page... More 

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

Came for a second visit to Keswick and was so impressed by how the town was coping after the recent flooding. We were so relieved that the museum has not been damaged and amazed to see how quickly the volunteers and the army have been clearing up the debris in the park. Lovely gesture that entry to the museum is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Flossy888
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this review

Thank you Flossy for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and grateful for your kind words. It is a testament to the hard work and dedication of our volunteers that the Museum has been able to remain open and we were keen to have free entry as a gesture during the post flood period. More 

Dover
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

I have visited the Keswick museum over many years, and always loved its quirky nature and character, unfortunately, modernism and a predeliction for change has ruined the character of this once unusal gem, into nothing more than a 2 roomed waiting room, akin to a heritage railway, without the trains. On entry one is immediately struck by the entry fee,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ilfaychaud
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this review

Hi there - sorry for the delay in replying to your review and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Keswick Museum. The Museum is self funding and run mainly by a team of dedicated volunteers so the entry fee is for the upkeep of the Museum. At the moment entry fees are reduced as a... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

had a lovely visit to this wonderful museum, very interesting. some fascinating exhibits and a lot of local history. the slate organ is a must see

Helpful?
Thank eileen w
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review the museum. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will visit us again next time you are in Keswick. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

We stood outside the Keswick Museum umming and arring as to whether enter. In my experience these sorts of museums, ambiguously titled after the place in which they are situated, are often a disappointment. However, we thought that since you had to pay there must be something worthwhile to look at and so we decided to go in. Upon entry... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Samuel P
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed comments. We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy any aspect of your visit and would be happy to explain our pricing and exhibition policy if you would like to contact us. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015 via mobile

I have always loved every second of my visits to Keswick Museum and Art Gallery. The exhibitions are very well thought out, interesting and informative - a personal favourite part has to be the musical stones which are so much fun! It is a perfect day out for children and adults, with a great little merchandise shop and a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Letty C
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this review

Hi Letty - many thanks for your lovely review. Our staff are mainly local volunteers who are passionate about the museum and it is a testament to their hard work and commitment that the museum recently won Cumbria Life "Museum of the Year" award, and Cumbria Tourism 2015 "Best Small Visitor Attraction". We look forward to seeing you next time... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

Visited the Wainwright Exhibition at Kewsick Museum as my partner has a particular interest in Arthur Wainwright. Excellent exhibition, intelligently constructed, interesting and engaging. If you are interested in Wainwright it is a must, particularly as he was such a private man. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I am not a particular Wainwright fan!

Helpful?
Thank Jak Jak G
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this review

Hi there Jak ! We're really grateful for your kind comments. The Exhibition has been incredibly popular and we have found that our visitors have all enjoyed it whether they are Wainwright fans or not ! The exhibits have been borrowed from many different sources (private and Council owned) and many have never been previously displayed in public. Do keep... More 

West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

Part of the museum is dedicated to Wainwright - a walker famous for stunning Lakeland walks, nicely set out from his childhood to later in life. Excellent memories in form of letters and visual displays with information Huge ordnance survey map on the floor too. Little room with video running on a loop and interactive part to show how the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karenp69
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this review

Hi Karen Really glad you enjoyed the exhibition - we have sourced exhibits from private collections, some of which have never been on public display before. Keep an eye out for future events - the Tom Price Inspiring Adventure Exhibition will be here in November ! More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

An superb and varied exhibition about AW Wainwright, showing his life and his love of walking in the Lake District, with lovely quotes from his books.

Helpful?
1 Thank Glenice F
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this review

Hi GleniceF - thanks for taking the time to review the museum. We've had some great feedback from our visitors about the Wainwright exhibition - we have exhibits from a few different sources some of which have never been on public display before. We're glad you enjoyed it ! More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

This building is lovely, worth a visit, it has different things to see, has a reasonable rate for entry and parts are free to walk into. it has a nice little shop and a good cafe downstairs. they are very welcoming and good value, with lots of choice in the cafe.

Helpful?
Thank lisa m
Sue M, Manager at Keswick Museum, responded to this review

Hi there ! Glad you enjoyed your visit. The museum reopened last year after extensive renovations and I'm pleased you share our enthusiasm for this lovely building. We are now self funding, which is why we charge a small fee for entry. More 

Travelers who viewed Keswick Museum also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Keswick Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Keswick Museum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?