We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Theatre by the Lake

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Redo Search in Map
See more hotels in your map view
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Lakeside, Keswick, England
Phone Number: 01-76-87-74411
Website
Today
9:30 am - 8:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:30 am - 8:00 pm
Description: Cumbria’s year-round theater hosts a wide range of visiting drama, music...
Cumbria’s year-round theater hosts a wide range of visiting drama, music, dance, talks, comedy and film.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 505 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 341
    Excellent
  • 119
    Very good
  • 28
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
KMF Ray Meers

Easy entry. Toilets small for a big place. Good clean communal areas. Waiting a while in corridor to be sat. Technicians delay reasoning. Seats ok. Sat front. Shared arm... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 20, 2015
padimsddiver
,
staffordshire
Add Photo Write a Review

505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 attraction reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 NEW

Easy entry. Toilets small for a big place. Good clean communal areas. Waiting a while in corridor to be sat. Technicians delay reasoning. Seats ok. Sat front. Shared arm rests annoyed my mate. Talk good thanks Ray. Didn't buy drinks etc so can't comment on bar. Easy to exit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Super concert, but a very poor "restaurant" dining experience. Cold food and austere dining furniture, the food we were served (a beef stew) was served cold and there were no non alcoholic beers available, more akin to the appearance of a truck drivers café than a restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheatrebytheLake, Head of Marketing at Theatre by the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Visitor, I'm concerned to hear that you didn't have a good experience recently at your pre-theatre meal. I am aware, however, that you are in touch with our Customer Services Manager, Erica Morris, and I understand that she is currently responding to you directly in regard to this complaint. Whilst Erica will respond to your complaint in full, I... More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 attraction reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

One of the best musical evening's entertainment I've been to - utterly professional, perfect timing and tuning, and funny with it! If you see this group on a bill - see them. They're a 'must'.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Attended the 24th Jennings jazz festival. Very well organised, especially for a disabled person like myself. Plenty of choice of style of jazz.

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

We have been twice now to events at Theatre By The Lake. It is a friendly, welcoming place, with an excellent programme and good value tickets. The cafe/bar is OK but it will be good to see how the new cafe will turn out, currently in development. Best advice would be to allow a little extra time for a drink... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

This is a beautiful theatre in a great location. The coffee bar was very nice and the theatre seats comfortable

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 via mobile

we popped in for some lite refreshments after our lovely walk up cat bells. Service was very slow, hap-hazard and inefficient. Walk another 10 minutes and you'll find yourself in town where services are more in keeping with such a beautiful place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheatrebytheLake, Head of Marketing at Theatre by the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Visitor, I'm concerned to hear that you didn't have a good experience in our café. I've spoken with the team and understand that your visit coincided with the beginning of our Jazz Festival and as such, is a very busy period for us. I further understand that there were staff shortages due to illness on the day of your... More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Great little place next to the lake with 2 theatres and a cafe. Big car park and a park with a lovely short walk to the lake with stunning views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brough, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 via mobile

I have previously given this cafe a poor review for a poor service and food. We revisited the cafe over the Easter weekend and thought we would give it a try again as it is the nearest cafe to the lake. This visit was very positive. The service was good and the staff very pleasent and helpful. A big difference... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

I love going to the theatre but whenever have been near this theatre it has been sold out. If you are visiting near Keswick- go online and book your tickets in advance and have a good evening. They do a variety of plays, talks etc and there is very likely something you will enjoy

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Theatre by the Lake also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Theatre by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Theatre by the Lake staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?