We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Unit 1, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number: 01539439906
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 5:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Thu - Mon 10:00 am - 5:30 pm
Description: Rufty Tuftys a large, indoor play centre, offering adventure, exercise...
Rufty Tuftys a large, indoor play centre, offering adventure, exercise, exploration and excitement for children in a clean, safe, stimulating environment right in the heart of the Lake District.We have free parking on our front and also we have an overflow carpark, again free just to the left of our building.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 54 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 25
    Excellent
  • 16
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Decent soft play

Good for 90 minutes especially in the rain. Clean premises, toilets regularly cleaned, tables cleared. Equipment looked to be well kept and in good condition. Food prices as... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 30, 2015
Andrew P
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 NEW

Good for 90 minutes especially in the rain. Clean premises, toilets regularly cleaned, tables cleared. Equipment looked to be well kept and in good condition. Food prices as expected, pot of tea was fine along with beakers of juice. But cold but the door was open most of the time. Good fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

The soft play was great, coffee ok, staff terrible. We were served by a rude young girl with black hair and glasses. She sighed and huffed when asked the simplest of questions and God help you if you dragged her out of the kitchen away from her phone/iPad. We would have spent a lot more money if it wasn't for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrymporter, Owner at Rufty Tuftys, responded to this review

Hi Many thanks for your review. As you may know you cannot sack someone for not having good interpersonal skills. As you will see from our reviews lately the staffing has been a big issue for us. Fortunately as of yesterday we have now resolved the issue with this member of staff. She has resigned. We have a policy of... More 

Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Rundown. The people in charge have clearly given up on this place which is a shame because soft play is big business Baby section was tired, dirty and full of broken toys with no 'fencing' to keep them from wandering off. The toilets were grim and the staff looked like they were in a POW camp not a children's play... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrymporter, Owner at Rufty Tuftys, responded to this review

Hi Rob. Many thanks for your review. We do appreciate go and bad reviews. If I may respond to your comments. With regard to the toilets we pride ourselves on having clean and hygienic toilet facilities for both kids and adults. You will have seen the sign that states that if the toilets are not clean when you visit them... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015 via mobile

Went there with my 2 kids, they loved it! The play areas perfect, and the staff were lovely they made sure the food was acceptable for my kids, as they have specific dietary needs. I found the place to be to a high standard of cleanliness and well looked after. I will definitely be going back there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 via mobile

When Rufty Tufty's first opened it was our favourite soft play centre. Always spotless,even at peak times. The owner was always here with a smile and an eye on maintaining high standards of cleanliness & service. Great coffee, really good food for adults and kids. However, in the last 2 years I am sad to say that it really feels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
barrymporter, Owner at Rufty Tuftys, responded to this review

We are committed to creating a clean, welcoming, place for children to play. We were really upset by your comments. Although it was quiet when you arrived it could well be that there had been a large birthday party before and the toilets had been “well used” . It is however totally unacceptable and although we have systems in place... More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

This is a typical single storey children's play-barn type facility located just outside the village. The staff were friendly and welcoming and there was a reasonable number of items to occupy the children. Our Grandson particularly liked the large pedal tractors. The facility itself is showing it's age a little but compared with other similar places we have been to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Hi, I have visited the place with my friend and 3 children during half term. It was busy but not very busy. We have ordered food for ourself and the kids and been told there is 45 minutes wait. That was fine, however after an hour we have very politely asked the staff, how much longer we will have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Came here to put a morning in with my Sons (7 and 2) as play areas go it's pretty decent nice cup of coffee staff were friendly enough and the food was what you'd expect decent price for a cheese sarnie - but my pet hate is uncleanliness it wasn't just a couple of days worth of grime either it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Although the soft play was a reasonable option for a rainy day, the lunch was an experience not to be repeated. We waited 50 minutes for it to arrive. Having paid £3.75 each for 'homemade soup' we watched them open cartons of soup and place them in the wrong bowls. My husband's mushroom soup arrived with large chunks of potato... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We visited on New Year's Eve - it's not that easy to find (could do with some signs from the road) but it's worth it - our nearly 4 year old had a blast. The soft play frame is quite large with a couple of slides and lots of bits to climb around. Adults are asked to accompany under 4's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Rufty Tuftys also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Rufty Tuftys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rufty Tuftys staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?