We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fort Amherst

Dock Road, Chatham ME4 4UB, England
01634847747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 11 Attractions in Chatham
Type: Military Bases/ Facilities
11 visitor photos
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    17
    6
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Since I moved to Medway I have always wanted to go here! I have a naval family and wanted to learn more about Chatham Dockyards history following a visit there a Few months ago! We arrived an me and guests visiting me from the north east were the only people there. Our tour guide was quite obnoxious and you could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FortAmherst, Public Relations Manager at Fort Amherst, responded to this review

Dear Visitor, Firstly, thank you for deciding to take a tunnel tour as with Fort Amherst's grounds open to the public for free, these tours are one of our only regular forms of income. The revenue they generate is important as we are a charity and use such funds to maintain the site and it's various historic buildings so we... More

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Having visited Fort Amherst often as a child with fond memories and high expectations, I was extremely disappointed with our visit today. The fort has been left to decay leaving the place in a state of overgrown neglect. The staff leave a lot to be desired, being ignored at the ticket counter while several staff continued to idly chat. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FortAmherst, Public Relations Manager at Fort Amherst, responded to this review

Dear Neil, Thank you for reviewing Fort Amherst. Whilst we were of course disappointed with your review, we always welcome feedback be it good or bad as we can use it to either congratulate our volunteers, or to guide us in their training. However, I can assure you that the tour guide you refer to would not have been uninterested... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We visited last August as a cheap family day out. We took a picnic with us to eat on the great lines and booked a tour. We arrived at 11am and didn't leave until we realise the car park was locking up. I LOVE history and visited here a lot on school trips as a child so wanted to bring... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We visited this site by chance on our way to The Historic Dockyard. I am sorry that I had not researched it before our visit. It is a very interesting place and although our guide was very welcoming and imparted some knowledge, I felt that I did not really understand the historical significance of the fort. I should have perhaps... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hook, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our first visit to this attraction, we were given a warm welcome and experienced an informative and entertaining tour of the underground tunnels. The grounds are spacious and peaceful with excellent views of the river, dockyard and surrounding area. We had a lovely picnic and then climbed the hill to the impressive naval war memorial on the great lines.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rainham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Had lunch here and was extremely disappointed by the food. I ordered a BLT which came out cold with hair inside the sandwich. Not impressed...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rainham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

A bit of history in Chatham. This seems to be run as a charity with volunteers. Shame it is not bigged up and sold as a much more touristy visit. Very historic and guided tours available. Volunteers do the tours and I feel they should be paid, but the tour price is only a few pounds. There is now a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Wasn't sure how to start the tour even though we bought a guidebook. Bought tickets for the tunnel tour but could have done with some information forthcoming from the girl who sold us the tickets, think she must have had her tongue cut out because she didn't utter a word. Even when we bought drinks there was no real customer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FortAmherst, Public Relations Manager at Fort Amherst, responded to this review

Dear Christine, Thank you for reviewing Fort Amherst, and for judging us on our attraction rather than the service you experienced on this occasion. We appreciate your 5 star rating, but are still grateful for you bringing the less positive aspects of your visit to our attention. With this feedback, we can investigate the situation and pass the information on... More

Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just got back from the tour of Fort Amherst and we was very impressed with the guide and his knowledge of the Fort. A very interesting afternoon.x

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We booked for a 90 minutes guided tour that unfortunately only lasted 45 minutes. We felt a little short-changed there. What made it worse was that our guide, an extremely scruffy man, had a very unpleasant and strong body odour which worsened when he leant close to people, which he did quite often. The walk round the site before the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FortAmherst, Manager at Fort Amherst, responded to this review

Dear Phil, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We certainly appreciate the feedback and I can promise you that the information has been passed on to our volunteer coordinator for investigation. As you rightly say, the tours are conducted by volunteers giving their time for free, and for that we are very grateful. However, this in no way... More

Travelers who viewed Fort Amherst also viewed

 

Been to Fort Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Amherst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing