We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fort Amherst

Dock Road, Chatham ME4 4UB, England
01634847747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Attractions in Chatham
Type: Military Bases/ Facilities
11 visitor photos
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    6
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

Nice display of battlements and magazines, has obvioisly had quite a substantial amount of money spent on it, there could be more information about as the plaques seemed few and far between. worth visiting if not purely for the views over chatham.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014 via mobile

Went here after seeing it advertised in the local paper. Was pleasantly surprised as we didn't know what to expect. The tunnels were fascinating and the guide was really knowledgeable. The tour took around an hour which for the price was excellent value. The views from the top were stunning. Well worth including in a trip to Chatham. Thank you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

this is an interesting day out with guides to take you around also you can book one of their ghostly night time tours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Margate, Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

This site is well worth a visit. The tunnels tour was most interesting and the guide displayed much expertise in explanations aimed at both adults and children. A fee (not expensive) is required for the guided tour of the tunnels but the rest of the site is open to the public affording excellent views over Chatham and the Medway. A... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We done the evening ghost tour for my daughters birthday . We enjoyed the tour and the guides were infomative and amusing, never saw anything but did feel a couple of cool breezes .

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Romford, Essex
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 attraction reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We had never been to the fort before but decided to visit while they were holding their summer fair. We went on the tunnel tour which was discounted to £3 for adults and £2 for children on that day, the tour lasted about an hour. The tour covered the history of the fort from Napoleonic times to its use in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Since I moved to Medway I have always wanted to go here! I have a naval family and wanted to learn more about Chatham Dockyards history following a visit there a Few months ago! We arrived an me and guests visiting me from the north east were the only people there. Our tour guide was quite obnoxious and you could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FortAmherst, Public Relations Manager at Fort Amherst, responded to this review

Dear Visitor, Firstly, thank you for deciding to take a tunnel tour as with Fort Amherst's grounds open to the public for free, these tours are one of our only regular forms of income. The revenue they generate is important as we are a charity and use such funds to maintain the site and it's various historic buildings so we... More

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Having visited Fort Amherst often as a child with fond memories and high expectations, I was extremely disappointed with our visit today. The fort has been left to decay leaving the place in a state of overgrown neglect. The staff leave a lot to be desired, being ignored at the ticket counter while several staff continued to idly chat. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FortAmherst, Public Relations Manager at Fort Amherst, responded to this review

Dear Neil, Thank you for reviewing Fort Amherst. Whilst we were of course disappointed with your review, we always welcome feedback be it good or bad as we can use it to either congratulate our volunteers, or to guide us in their training. However, I can assure you that the tour guide you refer to would not have been uninterested... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We visited last August as a cheap family day out. We took a picnic with us to eat on the great lines and booked a tour. We arrived at 11am and didn't leave until we realise the car park was locking up. I LOVE history and visited here a lot on school trips as a child so wanted to bring... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We visited this site by chance on our way to The Historic Dockyard. I am sorry that I had not researched it before our visit. It is a very interesting place and although our guide was very welcoming and imparted some knowledge, I felt that I did not really understand the historical significance of the fort. I should have perhaps... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed Fort Amherst also viewed

 

Been to Fort Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage Fort Amherst?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing