We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Funnel Ferries

Terminal 1, Royal Pier | Dock Gate 7, Southampton SO14 2AQ, England
+44 845 155 2442
Website
Improve this listing
77%
Ranked #10 of 49 Activities in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Ships, Sightseeing Tours
Owner description: Red Funnel provides car ferries and high speed Red Jet catamarans to the Isle of Wight. Enjoy a...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Ships, Sightseeing Tours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 8:00 am - 7:30 pm
Sat - Sun 8:00 am - 5:30 pm
Owner description: Red Funnel provides car ferries and high speed Red Jet catamarans to the Isle of Wight. Enjoy a mini cruise across the Solent with or without your car on Red Funnel vehicle ferry to the port of East Cowes or take the Red Jet catamaran at 37 knots to (west)Cowes - a wonderful Victorian port and the global home of yachting and yacht racing. Both destinations are ideal for a day trip or a short break, and Red Funnel can also book all your accommodation and attraction choices - see our website for more info.

Hotels near Red Funnel Ferries

Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    88
    29
    15
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

I am a regular traveller with Red Funnel, usually 4/5 times a year for holidays and short breaks. In August we were lucky to be able to travel to the Isle of Wight on the newly refurbished Red Falcon, The only downside to this was a very disappointing breakfast, which made my husband and myself feel quite sick, I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your journey with us. Our famous Red Funnel breakfast is the most popular and complemented dish on our menu and we were disappointed to hear that it did not meet your expectations. As per our previous correspondence we are still unable to locate the letters that you posted and we... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

My mum lives on the island so I visit quite often, always on red funnel rather than wightlink. I have never had a problem, once missed my crossing so was moved onto the next at no cost, have often managed to get on an earlier crossing if I've arrived too early for my booked crossing, and I've yet to experience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Just what we strive to hear, thank you so much for your wonderful comments and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Northfleet
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Ferry service itself very good and punctual. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only downside was the length of time it took to make the trip - does it really take an hour to go from East Cowes to Southampton? Cost out of season reasonable but not sure I would want to pay peak season prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RF_Marketing, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, it's good to hear that the hard work the staff put in is appreciated. It is 11 miles to Cowes from Southampton and we travel at around 12 knots, if we could go faster we would. More 

Dorset
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Travelled on 16.30 from Southampton - we tried to get on the previous ferry but it was full. No problem with directions to get us back out of the queue and then check in for our ferry was fine. Boarding good, seating fine and refreshment area was nice with very friendly staff. Disembarkation was easy. Returning on 12 noon from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RF_Marketing, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Naturally, at Red Funnel, our mission is to ensure our customers are very happy, so it is fantastic to read that you are. More 

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

First trip to the Isle of Wight with a car. We had fast and efficient service in Southampton and Cowes. We had a drink at the restaurant before embarking in Southampton and experienced poor service with an unfriendly waitress otherwise everyone was very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RF_Marketing, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent crossing. Our staff usually receive such positive feedback from our guests and we are sorry to hear that on this occasion the level of service you received did not meet with your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and your comment will be sent to the relevant department for their reference.... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

this was our first trip to the Isle of Wight, we found the online booking fast and easy to use, on arrival at the port the staff were extremely helpful and we were soon on board and relaxing with a coffee. I found both the outward and return journeys efficient and pleasant. I would certainly recommend this service to my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RF_Marketing, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

It is always fantastic to know when we have done well and we very much appreciate that you have, so kindly, taken the time to say so. We look forward to seeing you in the future. More 

London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We were on our way to Southampton for the ferry crossing to the Isle of Wight, when my car phone rang, and it was Red Funnel , the call was to advice me that there were road closures around the area of the terminus. I could not get over the foresight of the company to advise there customers of forthcoming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RF_Marketing, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

It is always fantastic to know when we have done well and we very much appreciate that you have, so kindly, taken the time to say so. We look forward to seeing you in the future. More 

Uckfield, UK
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
119 attraction reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We had to make some unexpected crossings on the passenger fast ferry from Cowes to Southampton. Our first crossing was whilst our son was being airlifted to hospital, in a coma. We were anxious and distressed. The customer service was very average. I couldn't believe that the ticket office lady couldn't grasp that we had no idea when we would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RF_Marketing, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I apologise for the lack of compassion shown to you at an anxious time and I hope your son is recovering well. Customer service is the cornerstone of Red Funnel’s business and it is vital that we deliver a consistently high level of customer service. To assist us in doing this we have recently... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014 via mobile

Southampton terminal fine, but east cowes very poor organisatin get put in a lane then have to hope your lane moves to the ticket booth (as 4 or more lanes compete for 2 ticket booths) and that cars don't turn off the road (that cuts through the terminal) in front of you and cut into que nobody seems to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RF_Marketing, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

We are currently reviewing the terminal yard space and trialling hand held scanners to speed up the check in process in East Cowes. Cars are not allowed to turn right into the yard from the chain ferry and should go around the one way system. Friday was an extremely challenging day as we had to pull a boat out of... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We travelled with red funnel on a monday on the 10am crossing on the red falcon one of the newer ferries and it was clean and modern although ferry was really busy there wasn't much seating indoors due to modern design and it was a fairly windy crossing. We returned home on a Thursday evening on the red osprey an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RF_Marketing, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Smooth and efficient is exactly the experience we strive to achieve. Thank you for letting us know that we succeeded. We look forward to serving you again in the future. More 

Travelers who viewed Red Funnel Ferries also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Red Funnel Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Funnel Ferries staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?