We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Funnel Ferries

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Terminal 1, Royal Pier | Dock Gate 7, Southampton SO14 2AQ, England
Phone Number: +44 23 8001 9192
Website
Today
7:00 am - 8:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 7:00 am - 8:00 pm
Sat - Sun 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Description: Red Funnel provides car ferries and high speed Red Jet catamarans to the...
Red Funnel provides car ferries and high speed Red Jet catamarans to the Isle of Wight. Enjoy a mini cruise across the Solent with or without your car on Red Funnel vehicle ferry to the port of East Cowes or take the Red Jet catamaran at 37 knots to (west)Cowes - a wonderful Victorian port and the global home of yachting and yacht racing. Both destinations are ideal for a day trip or a short break, and Red Funnel can also book all your accommodation and attraction choices - see our website for more info.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 402 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 201
    Excellent
  • 122
    Very good
  • 34
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 27
    Terrible
Pretty good service but can be pricey depending on when you sail

Since my mother moved to the IOW, I have used Red Funnel regularly. The boarding is usually painless and straight forward. Changes to tickets are easily carried out and the staff... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 27, 2015
Toully
,
Surrey
Add Photo Write a Review

402 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015 NEW

Travelled to the Island at the weekend there and back on the Red Falcon. It's a large ferry for the island and has great facilities. Certainly improved since I lived on the island during the 90's! The thing that stood out on both journeys was the quality of the staff! Not sure if Red Funnel have an excellent staff training... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 NEW

We travel to the Isle of Wight on a regular basis and all of the Red Funnel staff make the journey for my children. No matter how busy the ferry is they are always friendly, polite and helpful - it makes such difference after such a long drive down or long drive ahead of us. The facilities on the refurbished... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

We was going away for three days and I went to buy a ticket and asked the man which was cheaper to buy just a single ticket or any period return and he said the period return was cheaper so did that very helpful staff! Very jolly staff onboard also! Great trip! Would recommend to travel with!

Was this review helpful? Yes
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you for the great comments. We hope that you have had a lovely three day holiday, a mini-break from reality! We are very proud of our staff as they are always on hand to help our customers in any way possible so it is excellent to receive the lovely compliments towards our staff. It is much appreciated. We hope... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

He ground staff were very efficient, professional and polite. Once onboard the service carried on and before long we were seated with a drink. The communal areas were very clean and easy to access.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Excellent feedback, thank you. It is lovely to hear the wonderful comments towards our staff, it is much appreciated. We are very proud of our staff and it is nice to see that their hard work is appreciated. We are delighted to receive your kind compliments towards the service received and the cleanliness of the vessels. It is very important... More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Since my mother moved to the IOW, I have used Red Funnel regularly. The boarding is usually painless and straight forward. Changes to tickets are easily carried out and the staff are generally helpful. I have only ever had one exception to this, but that's another story. The journey is an hour long and by the time you get settled,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We hope that your mother is enjoying living on the beautiful island. Please note that as your mother is an islander, she gets sent vouchers which are sent exclusively to island residents that she can forward to her family and friends to use when they visit her, benefitting yourself! We appreciate your loyal custom greatly,... More 

Whippingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We planned a day trip to Southampton to go shopping from the Isle of Wight. We caught the 8.30 a.m. Ferry from East Cowes and the 1.00 p.m. Ferry going home. Nothing unusual you may think but I am of the opinion that praise should be given when deserved. Two ladies made our trip as foot passengers much easier and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent feedback. We hope you have had a lovely shopping trip and spoilt yourself! It is always lovely to receive comments, especially towards our staff. They go beyond their duty to make sure all passengers are happy and it is great to see that their hard work is appreciated. It will be a pleasure to pass... More 

Oakham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Just come back from a 5 day break over on the IOW and we used Red Funnel to go across to East Cowes. We stayed overnight nearby to avoid travel hassles down from the Midlands so arrived at the terminal at 1000 for the 11-00 sailing.However despite the ship arring on time, it took an age to unload it. Itr... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We hope that you had a fantastic 5 day break on the beautiful Isle of Wight and made the most of the picturesque scenery. It is great to see that you had plenty of time to spare for your booked sailing. We are sorry to hear that it took longer than expected to unload the... More 

Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Good, fast, reliable. Red jet was as reliable as usual. Lots of sailors on board today as cowes gets ready for another big regatta. Cheaper to get tickets out of self serve.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Many thanks for the fantastic comments. It is excellent to receive such great feedback regarding the service we provide, it is much appreciated. Be prepared to see a lot more sailors onboard our boats! Cowes week is one of the largest sailing regatta of its kind in the world so it is fantastic that passengers can enjoy the sailing from... More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Not previously travelled by car ferry and was very impressed. Very slick operation with plenty of facilities onboard, would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Excellent comments, it is much appreciated. We are delighted to see that our vehicle ferry has exceeded your expectations and we hope that you had made the most of the beautiful views of the Solent while onboard Red Funnel. We look forward to welcoming you back onboard for your second trip by vehicle ferry! More 

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

We have been to the Isle of Wight lots of times over the years, we have always had a really pleasant experience when we have gone. Once we was going, we got there early and they asked whether we wanted to jump on an early ferry which was just about to leave, but since we was traveling with another car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely feedback. The Isle of Wight is perfect for a little holiday away; it is great to hear that you are making the most of the beautiful island. We will always try to accommodate all of our passengers so it is excellent to see that providing you with the option of sailing on an earlier ferry... More 

Travelers who viewed Red Funnel Ferries also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Red Funnel Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Funnel Ferries

Address: Terminal 1, Royal Pier | Dock Gate 7, Southampton SO14 2AQ, England
Phone Number: +44 23 8001 9192
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Southampton
Open Hours:
Sunday 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Monday 7:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tuesday 7:00 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday 7:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday 7:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday 7:00 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday 8:00 am - 6:00 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Red Funnel Ferries and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Red Funnel Ferries staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?