We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spinnaker Tower

Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3TT, England
+44 (0)23 9285 7520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 50 attractions in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers
Fee: Yes
Traveler Description: Type: Observation Decks/ Towers Cost: Fee Gunwharf Quays Portsmouth PO1 3TT England +44 (0)23 9285 7520 Fax: +44 (0)23 9285 7539 http://spinnakert... more »
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    447
    163
    33
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

Breathtaking views over Portsmouth Harbour and towards the Isle of Wight. Worth every penny. However, watch out for expensive souvenirs including the photo they take of you before you go up the tower.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 NEW

Spectacular views of Portsmouth and the surrounding area from the top but a little bit pricey! There is a cafe at the top which looked nice but we did not eat there. There is also a restaurant at the bottom of the tower. A nice experience but a little pricey!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the spectacular views on offer at the Spinnaker Tower. It is disappointing to read that despite enjoying your trip, you found it a little expensive. We do try hard to deliver an outstanding experience with a number of features included in your... More

Llanelli, UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 attraction reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 NEW

There's a price to be paid for the excellent view from here, a hole in your wallet. Given the time I spent here not really worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Naturally, I am very disappointed to read you didn’t feel the visit was worth the price. We do offer a number of features and add-ons within a visit, besides the excellent view, which contribute to the value for money including free audio guides, i-VIEW screens, our glass floor, the open... More

London
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 attraction reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 NEW

We came to take our grandson up the tower but we thought it was overly expensive so in the end we ate in the restaurant under the tower which was very acceptable. Don't expect a rushed meal as our food took 40 mins to arrive. We recommend the bacon and turkey toasted club. Have a packet of their vegetable crisps

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It is disappointing that you did not feel the tower was worth the trip – I believe if you had taken the trip, your review may have been more positive. Hopefully, you will return in future to experience the views. I am happy to hear you chose to enjoy the... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 NEW

Enjoyed visiting the tower and was great for getting a better perspective of Portsmouth and the surrounding area. We visited on a clear day and were able to see for miles. The cafe in the clouds was really good although spoilt by the crowds waiting for the lift back down and would suggest that the layout perhaps needs thought through... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Spinnaker Tower and the views on offer. Thank you for your feedback on our lift queuing system – as we only have one lift, we do have to put in place a one-way lift system. We are aware... More

Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 NEW

Very modern Tower, terrific views and the audio is well worth listening to which is included in the price. Cafe on first floor small but if you are desperate ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Spinnaker Tower and took advantage of our audio guides which do provide a fantastic overview of the history included in the views as well as the tower building process. We seat 100 people in our ground floor Waterfront Café... More

Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 NEW via mobile

Although the views are great from the tower, for four of us, the total cost was hefty, and the cafe prices added to the sense of lack of value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We work hard to deliver a fantastic visit that is well worth the money. We do offer the opportunity to save 15% on entry if you book online and as well as the many features included in your visit, we also hand out our passport to Portsmouth with a selection... More

Emsworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 NEW

Visited today with my 9 year old and 14 year old. The 14 year old is petrified of lifts. She waited downstairs. The fantastic manager Simon offered and took her up 587 stairs to see the beautiful views of the Isle of Wight and Portsmouth. Without his help she would have missed out. I am so happy that she was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Spinnaker Tower and found Simon to be so incredibly helpful. I will ensure I pass on your kind words to him. We work hard to deliver exemplary experiences to all our visitors at Spinnaker Tower and it... More

Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 attraction reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 NEW

We had to queue quite a long time to get tickets despite they were not that many people in front of us but when we got to the desk we understood that the person there probably did not know how to use the credit card machine. (3 cards all refused while they were accepted in shops just before or after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave these comments. I am disappointed to read your feedback about your visit. Clearly, this is not the opinion we hope visitors leave with. In regards to your ticket purchasing experience, it seems that our card machine must have been having a temporary blip if your cards were working before and after your... More

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 NEW

We held our company's 25th anniversary party at the Spinnaker Tower on Friday night, last weekend. Everything went to plan perfectly. We hired the whole tower for our celebratiosna dn the venue couldn't have been any better. The staff were helpful and courteous and the door staff were superb. They were very friendly and approachable and helped ensure everything ran... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSpinnakerTower, General Manager at Spinnaker Tower, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your event at the Spinnaker Tower and found our staff so helpful. I hope to welcome you back to the Spinnaker Tower in future. Sarah Webb, general manager More

Travelers who viewed Spinnaker Tower also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Spinnaker Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spinnaker Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing