We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Rock-A-Nore Road, Hastings TN34 3DW, England
Phone Number: 01424 718 776
Website
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description: Take the ultimate undersea safari at Blue Reef Aquarium. Enjoy incredibly...
Take the ultimate undersea safari at Blue Reef Aquarium. Enjoy incredibly close encounters with seahorses, native sharks, giant octopus and hundreds of amazing aquatic creatures. At the aquarium’s heart is a giant ocean display where you can walk through an underwater tunnel and come face to face with shoals of colourful fish.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 184 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 29
    Excellent
  • 58
    Very good
  • 39
    Average
  • 38
    Poor
  • 20
    Terrible
Short and sweet

Visited here in May for the first time since I was a child. What they had in aquarium was good, well kept, tanks clean and information around tanks. Just found the whole place... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed May 20, 2015
Joanne D
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW via mobile

Took my two little ones a 7yrear old and a 8year old they loved it the staff was very helpful very polite the place was very clean lots of information to see and read if you get the train you get a discount on the entry price that's good news for family on a tight budget there is a car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

I've taken the kids a few times before as I live quite close. As always it was a nice way to spend an hour or so. I bought my tickets online (and saved a few pounds doing so). There was a good variety of exhibits and the kids were entertained the whole time we were there. It is a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 NEW via mobile

Visited here in May for the first time since I was a child. What they had in aquarium was good, well kept, tanks clean and information around tanks. Just found the whole place very small and literally over within an hour and we took our time going around. Seems much small then I remembered, there was no touching rock pools... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

A nice clean aquarium,friendly staff. But at nearly £30 for a family of four well over priced for the size of the place. We really took our time and went round twice and we were still only in there an hour. Good for something to show the kids,but not at the price they charge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
46 attraction reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Visited here before peak season and it still holds the interest. good to keep the little ones amused and teach them something new. Entry can be had on a discounted activities ticket which is really good value for all of the major attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dalton in Furness
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015 via mobile

Dont be put off by some of the negative reviews on here. I went with my partner and her 4yr old Grandaughterand found it a lot better than some of the reviewson here would suggest. Yes its small but as the owners admit, it IS a small seaside aquarium but that does not mean it's "Tired" or indeed "Dirty" both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

Great visit for a couple of hours on a rainy day. My daughter really enjoyed it, especially when the Rays started to splash the crowds that were gathering round to watch feeding time! It isn't cheap, but you can come back all day - so with a 3 year old who doesn't have the greatest concentration we decided to come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

expensive to get in as it is over quite quick.small aquarium.cafe closed,dirty toilet.not welcoming at all. Very poor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

Horrible place, tiny tanks, dirty, not good animal welfare at all. People touching the sting rays even though signs up saying it can damage their health. This isn't surprising though, anyone who enjoys somewhere like this cant care about the animals welfare. Came out feeling like we had just visited a run down poor welfare prison.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this review

Dear westhillhastings Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read you didn't like the aquarium, however it seems you are against aquariums in general. All our tanks abide by strict zoo guidelines regarding size and we can assure you none of our animals are at risk. Many thanks Blue Reef Aquarium, Hastings. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 via mobile

This aquarium is tiny, very expensive and depressing. The tanks are small, often dirty and utterly depressing. Don't waste your money or time visiting, and don't support somewhere which doesn't look after its animals.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this review

Dear DMLace, Thank you for your review. We are a seaside aquarium, and although not massive, we believe we offer great value for money with the option of returning as many times as you like throughout the day as well as a vast array of talks and presentations taking place. As you can imagine, we are governed by strict guidelines... More 

Travelers who viewed Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings also viewed

 
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?