We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bournemouth Surf School Ltd.

Address: Toft Steps, Undercliff Drive, Bournemouth BH5 1BN, England
Phone Number: 44 0800 043 7873
Improve this listing
86%
Ranked #15 of 53 Activities in Bournemouth
Type: Surf Camps, Adventure
Owner description: How to describe it? I’m not sure, and even if I could, I wouldn’t do it justice. When you stand up...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Type: Surf Camps, Adventure
Owner description: How to describe it? I’m not sure, and even if I could, I wouldn’t do it justice. When you stand up on your first wave it is the uncontrollable, throw your hands in the air and scream feeling, if only for a few seconds!! Once you can ride a wave, it is the undeniable urge to go back for more, and when you are on the beach and the sun is shining it is enormous fun!! Learn to surf...the only way you can really understand what all the fuss is about is to get some gear and get wet!! That’s where we can help.

Hotels near Bournemouth Surf School Ltd.

Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    4
    2
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Amazing! The teacher was so good and we really enjoyed ! Cold weather but the sea is good. See you next time :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
SurfSteps, Owner at Bournemouth Surf School Ltd., responded to this review

Great to hear you had such a good time, look forward to seeing you again soon! Regards, Andy Joyce Director More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We hired 14 boards from this centre 3 broke in the waves the centre tried to charge £175 per board that was damaged this information wasn't listed. On closer inspection of the boards the wooden centre was rotten and no longer fit to be used there were various repairs to the all the board. Great location on the beach just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SurfSteps, General Manager at Bournemouth Surf School Ltd., responded to this review

Hi, In response to your review... Firstly, we're very sorry about what happened during your visit and never like to have unhappy customer. Secondly, I would like to respond to some of your comments. None of the boards you hired were 'rotten' or "no longer fit to be used", they are all still here and can be seen by anyone... More 

Windlesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Had a great surf lesson here. Loads of fun, really relaxed, nice mix of people, great friendly instructors. Never surfed before, but it's seriously fun! Would recommend and will be coming back for an 'improver's lesson soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SurfSteps, General Manager at Bournemouth Surf School Ltd., responded to this review

We're all really glad to hear you enjoyed your experience here at Surf Steps so much. We can't wait to see you back down here in the future. Kind regards Tom and the team More 

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were sorely disappointed with our beginners’ lesson at Surf Steps. After reading the overwhelmingly positive reviews on Tripadvisor and checking their website, we went down to Bournemouth on 30th July 2014. We tried calling Surf Steps beforehand to book an appointment for Surfing Lessons but it kept going onto voicemail. We therefore decided to travel to Bournemouth and book... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
SurfSteps, Manager at Bournemouth Surf School Ltd., responded to this review

Hi Amanda, Firstly, we are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience with us at Surf Steps. If any of these points were raised on the day of your session we could have done something about it but I'm afraid all I can offer now is the chance for the 2 of you to return for a... More 

crazy21girl
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We booked this for part of my friends Hen weekend on 2/8/14, it was such a fun experience which everyone enjoyed! Would recommend to anyone who hasn't tried it before, great for the money & lots of time spent in the sea attempting to surf!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SurfSteps, Manager at Bournemouth Surf School Ltd., responded to this review

Hi Girls, We're glad to hear you all had a fun Hen do and enjoyed your surfing experience with us! Hopefully we'll see you back here in the futute. Thank you for your review. All the best, The SurfSteps Crew x More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Impressive surf school at reasonable cost and our instructor Mo was really friendly and helpful throughout our lesson. Wetsuits and boards were decent kit and we managed to get onto some good waves in our 2-hour session. Mo was always nearby with advice and helped us when we weren't quite getting there without being over-the-top with help so we felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SurfSteps, Manager at Bournemouth Surf School Ltd., responded to this review

Hi, Thank you Very much for your review, we're all glad to hear you had a great time and I've passed your thanks onto Mo! We hope to see you down here again in the future. All the best, The Surf Steps Crew! x More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I hired equipment during a break for my birthday. We spent two hours in the sea and had a great time! Friendly service and quick replies to emails and good prices too. Thank you :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SurfSteps, Manager at Bournemouth Surf School Ltd., responded to this review

Glad you had fun and thanks for the review :) If you visit again remind us to give you one of our 'Hire Loyalty Cards' More 

Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Booked for nephew and niece, unfortunately niece had a cold and couldn't attend and we got a refund for session :)

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
SurfSteps, Manager at Bournemouth Surf School Ltd., responded to this review

Hi, Thankyou for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the session and hopefully if you come back in the future everyone will be well enough to attend the lesson. Alll the best, The SurfSteps Crew! x More 

Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were there for a hen party and had two hours of laughs! the surf instructors were very encouraging and offered lots of helpful tips (not that there was ever much hope of us managing to stay on our feet). They created a very friendly environment and we had an amazing day. I would recommend bringing food with you for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
SurfSteps, Manager at Bournemouth Surf School Ltd., responded to this review

Glad you had a great time. All the best to the Bride :) More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable couple of hours spent (attempting) to surf. Good clear instruction and very reasonably priced

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SurfSteps, Manager at Bournemouth Surf School Ltd., responded to this review

Stoked that you had a good time :) More 

Travelers who viewed Bournemouth Surf School Ltd. also viewed

 
Highcliffe, Christchurch
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Bournemouth Surf School Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bournemouth Surf School Ltd. staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?