We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Living Coasts

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Beacon Quay | Torquay Harbourside, Torquay TQ1 2BG, England
Phone Number: 01803 202470
Website
Today
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 895 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 407
    Excellent
  • 265
    Very good
  • 146
    Average
  • 46
    Poor
  • 31
    Terrible
lovely little aquarium

was a lovely little aquarium, however the weather wasnt very good when we visited which i no isnt there fault. however we didnt want spend too long outside because of the rain and... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 18, 2015
Katie C
,
Telford, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

895 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

We love coming here every time we visit we never get bored , love the Penguins especially close up watching them & the otters , love the feel & touch of the fish & starfish

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 NEW

We love going around Living Coast on a nice afternoon, and enjoying the attraction! As SOS members we return when we like! We do recommend it for all and having a nice coffee or lunch is great too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 NEW

not a lot to see you have to pay for the car park this take up the cost and not much to do very poor but i guess the animals need some where to live

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 NEW

Wonderful place with helpful knowledgeable staff who are happy to answer any questions. Seeing penguins up close is amazing!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 NEW

was a lovely little aquarium, however the weather wasnt very good when we visited which i no isnt there fault. however we didnt want spend too long outside because of the rain and we thought we would be walking round here for a good two hours but it only took us an hour to walk round. this was mainly our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 NEW

I loved this visit, the Penguins roam free around your feet and it's a beautiful setting. I really enjoyed the visit and got a Zoopler ticket that also gets you into Paignton zoo which is a discounted price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 NEW

It was a wonderful place to visit the talks were informative things for children to do going round including touch and feel boxes. You can easily spend most of the day there, food is of a fair quality

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Visited Living Coast a nice large outside / inside attraction the idea is really good but was a little disappointed as entrance fee is quite expensive and once inside there is not a lot to see but what is there is very good. They seemed have put more into the restaurant and gift shop, both were good but all seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

We love living coast BUT the cafe lets it down, we asked if they had veggie panini's and the chef said no so we ask if she could make one and she said no we made them all up this morning! My husband had sausage, chips and beans and the chips were cold! We were very disappointed with the cafe!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
LivingCoastsManager, Manager at Living Coasts, responded to this review

Thank you for recently visiting Living Coasts. I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed with the café on this occasion. Unfortunately there wasn’t a complaint made at the time, meaning we did not get an opportunity to rectify the “cold chips”. As for the Panini, we will ensure that a vegetarian option is available every day and apologise as this... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Living Coasts, as its name implies, relates to fish and seabirds. There is plenty to see and do, with child friendly tanks. The Penguins are a great attraction as are the beautiful Inca Terns. They also have some otters. There is a cafe overlooking Torquay Bay where you can sit outside on a good day. There is a small pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Living Coasts also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Living Coasts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Living Coasts and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Hastings, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Living Coasts staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?