We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clovelly Village

Off the A39 | Nr Bideford, Devon, Clovelly EX39 5TA, England
+44 1237 431781
Website
Improve this listing
55%
Ranked #6 of 8 Attractions in Clovelly
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Clovelly, North Devon. World famous for our cobbled, traffic-free street, donkeys, sledges and historic harbour. The stunning views, peaceful tranquility and cobbled, traffic-free, high street of this world famous fishing village, built into a cleft in a 400' high cliff, tumbles its way down past whitewashed cottages festooned with flowers to the tiny working port. It is famous for its donkeys, which traditionally carry goods up the hill; sledges bring things down. There are links with Charles Kingsley, Turner, Dickens and the Spanish Armada.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    150
    102
    58
    94
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 NEW

You must have the appropriate footwear for this visit. Sturdy walking shoes a must. Despite the damp start on our day out in November it really was a unique visit with only a handful of visitors. A very steep walk down to the harbour over cobbled streets. Each house individual and the gardens I would expect in the summer to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

My partner and I visited clovelly village yesterday 14 November 2014 ,we enjoyed it very much Well worth it even with the long walk back up the steep hill !!,only disappoint was that we didn't get to watch the audio visual show it wasn't showing due to technical problems .Hopefully we will get to visit again if we manage to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClovellyVillage, Social Media Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback of your recent visit to Clovelly Village. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment at not being able to watch our high quality audio-visual show. The 20 minute film tells Clovellys fascinating history and is introduced by leading British actor and Clovelly resident, Joss Ackland. Unfortunately as a result... More

herts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

it was my first time and it was an amazing place i had ever seen, actually never been anywhere quite like it.The access is by foot only and cobbles are very raised so good footwear a must,a very steep walk down but to be fair it was raining when we went,and a steep walk back ,but still a lovely place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClovellyVillage, Social Media Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this excellent review of your recent visit to Clovelly! You’re quite right, the walk down through the village to the harbour is steep and we certainly advise our visitors to wear sensible shoes, whatever the weather. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in the village and... More

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

On a recent stay in Devon, we decided to visit Clovelly as we knew it was close to where we were based. It is around £7 to enter (it would be interesting to see how this money contributed towards the upkeep of the village), but I'd say it is worth paying. Firstly, the views from the top of the village... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClovellyVillage, Social Media Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely and descriptive review of your recent visit to Clovelly. In answer to your question, as well as entrance to this privately owned village, the fee that you pay at our Visitor Centre also covers parking, admission to the audio-visual show, the Fisherman’s Cottage and the Kingsley Museum, as well as... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Memorable not just because of the incredible beauty but because of the very steep hill one has to negotiate. But the prettiness of the village makes it all worthwhile. The harbour at the bottom of the cobble stone walk, is really beautiful. The scenery is awesome. We had Cornish Pasties for lunch and loved every bit of our Clovelly Village... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClovellyVillage, Social Media Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed every bit of your visit to Clovelly Village! You’re quite right, the cobbles are steep but as you say, it’s well worth making your way to the harbour, taking your time to enjoy the pretty scenery and the unique beauty of the village. Thank you for writing this excellent review and we... More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We visited this extremely pretty village on a damp October day. We loved the buildings and history attached to it but found the cobbles treacherous and the entrance fee a little high. We were glad to pay the £2.50 each to go back up in the land rover! The gift shop is a little on the "tacky" side but we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClovellyVillage, Social Media Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Clovelly Village and that you found some excellent bargains at the gift shop! The walk down through the village to the harbour is hugely enjoyable although the street is steep, and we certainly advise all visitors to wear sensible shoes when walking on the cobbles. The fee that... More

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

The first decision is whether to go down to the harbour in the landrover. No we'll miss the best of the village. It must be a mile down the cobbles, well worth the walk. The harbour is wonderful, like going back in time. When we were there the tide was out, so just like a stoney moonscape! We had lunch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClovellyVillage, Social Media Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Clovelly ~ It certainly seems like you made the most of your time in the village, relaxing in the October sunshine, sampling the tasty food on offer and taking in the views (we’ve never heard the harbour described as a ‘stoney moonscape’ before, but we like your striking and... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Clovelly is a lovely fishing village but you feel trapped after going through the tourist area at the top... its a steep walk down to a village from.times past. Worth a look but can be pricey.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClovellyVillage, Social Media Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you think Clovelly is lovely and that visiting the village is like stepping back in time. The cobbled street is steep and we advise all visitors to wear sensible shoes. Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. :) Ellie Clovelly Village Social Media Manager More

Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 attraction reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

My wife and I spent Sunday morning here recently. It was a great way to spend a few hours and has a really interesting history. It's a privately owned estate and costs £6.96 per adult to enter the village and this goes to the upkeep of it. Being set in a small valley, the road from the visitor centre starts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClovellyVillage, Social Media Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Clovelly ~ Thank you for taking the time you leave your lovely review of your time in the village. There are many aspects of Clovelly which children (and parents alike) find exciting, interesting and fun ~ The donkeys are a must-see part of any family trip to Clovelly. A... More

Staines, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

What a rip off, £7 per adult just to walk down village street. Half the "attractions" were shut - hey price remains the same! Most definitely not worth £7 per person (made car park £28).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClovellyVillage, Social Media Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this review

We would like to point out that the admission charge for 2014 is £6.75 per adult. We cannot imagine why you have mentioned a charge for the car park, as the entrance fee covers parking and there is no additional charge. We would also like to point out that in addition to parking and entrance to this privately owned village,... More

Travelers who viewed Clovelly Village also viewed

 

Been to Clovelly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing