We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Thompson's Lane | La Mimosa Punt Station, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number: +44 871 315 2521
Improve this listing
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours

Traditional punting in Cambridge, England. College river tours by...

Traditional punting in Cambridge, England. College river tours by experienced local guides. With a wealth of local knowledge and many years experience of Cambridge punting we can ensure that your trip along the backs is an experience that you will remember forever.Our punt chauffeurs are well trained and experienced. Because punting is for most a seasonal job many chauffeurs work for a summer and have often only been working for a few months by the time they reach the end of their tenure. Wherever possible we use chauffeurs who have been punting on the Cam for several seasons - either students who return for their holidays each year or local residents who work in a more full time capacity.You won't get a robotic recitation of facts. Whilst every river tour covers as much (or as little) of the history as you require, each chauffeur offers their personal take on the history and background information and every tour is unique. You won't get a robotic recitation of facts.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 36 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 19
  • 15
    Very good
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Bye bye bottle

We had a lovely time punting yesterday morning along the Cam. Very relaxing and informative trip. Big thank you to Charlie our punter-guide-person who was very amusing and made... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 4 weeks ago
Nathan G
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely time punting yesterday morning along the Cam. Very relaxing and informative trip. Big thank you to Charlie our punter-guide-person who was very amusing and made the trip engaging. Thanks for a great morning in Cambridge. Shame about your bottle falling in the water though, did you ever get it back?

Thank Nathan G
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

We had a very knowledgeable, friendly and humorous chauffeur which all added to the wonderful afternoon, weather was kind to us and the whole experience was enjoyed by our party - we hired the punt privately for 7 adults - money well spent.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

This was the best price of all the river tours. The person who did our punt (didn't catch his name but goes to Leeds Uni) was funny and very informative. Would highly recommend these people. The best way to see Cambridge - just sit back and relax for 45 minutes.

Thank Stephanie W
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

Cambridge is one of the most beautiful uni towns I have been to. We had a fantastic time here except the experience with this punting service. Matt, who claimed to be the owner of this company behaved very unprofessionally and was least bothered that we had a little kid with us. Booked a punting tour for 4.15 pm and reached... More 

Thank HimSad
Cambridge P, Owner at Cambridge River Tour, responded to this review

Hi, First of all, I'm sorry to hear that you had a bad experience when you were punting in Cambridge. Many people come to our city specifically for that purpose and it's a great shame when expectations aren't met. The critical point for us is that you absolutely did NOT go punting with our company. Cambridge River Tour punt tours... More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

Took my 86 year old mother on a punting guided tour. After the initial task of getting her into the punt, we had a very enjoyable and informative ride along the colleges on the river. I would definitely do this again, and so would my mother.

3 Thank MonicaL161
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

..... and definitely worth doing. Josh was our 'punter' who provided loads of very good information as well as a few funny anecdotes. Whole trip was almost 55 minutes from a promised 45 minutes so excellent value for money. Worth trying to 'haggle' - we managed to get it for £30 for four - however this was midweek.

Thank J0seyWhales
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

I arranged a punting afternoon with Cambridge River Tours for a group of 16 people. Some of our party were quite elderly and had some mobility problems but the young men that took us in the two punts were extremely helpful. There was lots of information given and it was a great way to spend a sunny afternoon. Thank you... More 

1 Thank Tracy T
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Thank you Cambridge River Tours for the perfect tour of the backs.... Loads of info that I'd never have known otherwise, all delivered with lots of laughs, whilst taking a relaxing tour of a beautiful stretch of the Cam. I loved it and will definitely be returning soon!

1 Thank Peabee72
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We had booked the punting tour online earlier, as it was cheaper to buy tickets in advance. We had to pay 25% upfront, and the remaining amount when we arrived. 3 of us got the front seats, and our guide was Benny. He was very cheerful and knowledgeable, and sharing all sorts of information throughout the trip, to and fro.... More 

1 Thank lendeliz
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We took the tour off spec with a guy called James G, from Leeds. He discounted the trip and promised front seats in the punt and only had to wait 30 mins. It was a lovely sunny day a just the perfect Temperature for the trip. As promised we go front seats, and the guide was very informative and knowledgeable.... More 

3 Thank Michael C

Travelers who viewed Cambridge River Tour also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire

Been to Cambridge River Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cambridge River Tour staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?