We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea

184 Adolphus Street, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1T7, Canada
+1 506-529-8823
Website
Improve this listing
70%
Ranked #10 of 11 Activities in Saint Andrews
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Breathtaking views. Ocean breezes. A challenging game. For over a century, golfers have traveled to The Algonquin to test their skills and take in the views. Today, our 7,000-yard, par 72 course–redesigned in 2000 by renowned course architect Thomas McBroom–will delight and challenge golfers of every level. You’ll never want to return to a course without a show-stealing ocean backdrop.

Hotels near The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea

Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    5
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Played in late September. The course itself was in great shape, but the bar and restaurant on site was already closed for the season. Since we were the first group of the day, we were able to finish our round in 3.5hrs. One issue, the pro shop allowed a horribly slow twosome to tee off on the 10th hole (because... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NCHR, Manager at The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our course, I'm happy that you were able to enjoy the scenery. I encourage your feedback and suggestions. Please do not hesitate to send our Director of Golf a message at jason.porter@algonquinresort.com. Thank you, Tim Ostrem General Manager More

Maine
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
3 attraction reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

The ocean views are amazing and we loved having deer roaming around while we played. The greens and the course itself were in average condition. Also we were told to check in with the starter and we waited and waited and no one ever came to the start box. I went back in and I was told "Oh, yeah, he's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim O, General Manager at The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear gabbygirl, Thank you for taking in the breathtaking views of our picturesque seaside course. I am sorry your were disappointed in the conditions and encourage you to let us know how we can improve. Please do not hesitate to send our Director of Golf a message at Jason.porter@algonquinresort.com. Sincerely, Tim Ostrem More

Connecticut
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
24 attraction reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Looked like a wonderful golf course went to the club and they are very accomodating if you would like to rent clubs and shoes. We did not due to our schedule.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim O, General Manager at The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear bonesConnecticut, We wish you had played as well! I am sorry you didn't have a chance on this trip but look forward to having you out the next time you are in our picturesque seaside town. Sincerely, Tim Ostrem More

Graham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is a beautiful, well maintained, north by the seaside golf course. The view are exquisite and the golf is memorable. The course is a few miles, don't remember how many, fro the Algonquin Hotel. Flowers and lupines live to the side of many tee boxes. Glad we were able to play here while we stayed at the Algonquin. On... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim O, General Manager at The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear zoomaster, We are certainly very proud of our picturesque seaside Golf Course and I am pleased you enjoyed your time there. Thank you for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community. Once shops close their doors for the night, there are a number of fun bars and dining rooms, often with great live music and entertainment. Let me know... More

Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Some spectacular views, especially from the clubhouse. This fine old course has been brought up to date. It is deceptively challenging for all golfers. Staff are welcoming and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim O, General Manager at The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear Murray274, I am very pleased that you enjoyed our course and the spectacular views! We look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Tim Ostrem, The Algonquin Resort More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The views from each hole are amazing, but the rough is extremely deep. The holes tend to run to the water on the front, so bring plenty of balls. A good shot in the middle of the fairway may run to the rough and not be found.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim O, General Manager at The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear Reg S, I appreciate your review of the course and am glad you appreciated the wonderful views. I hope we see you back out there! Sincerely, Tim Ostrem More

Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We waited for the "boys" to finish their gold round, enjoying a glass of wine and the best lobster and spinach cheese dip we've ever had. Our waitress was lovely. Highly recommend even without a golfer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim O, General Manager at The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear Jennie B, I am glad you enjoyed the Lobster, Spinach and Roasted Corn Dip - it is definitely a crowd favourite. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with the trip advisor community. Sincerely, Tim Ostrem More

Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I have visted St Andrews annually for 14 years now. We have stayed at The Algonquin Resort about 6 times over the last7 years, as a reward for working hard all year. We had reservations for last year, but due to a massive renovation, we were forced to see alternate accommodations. We arrived at The Algonquin this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim O, General Manager at The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear Laurie T, I am very sorry your stay was less than perfect. It is very important to all of us that we provide an exceptional experience in pristine surroundings. I am sorry that wasn't the case with your visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly s I would love to hear more about your stay. Sincerely, Tim... More

MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Don't play golf but went to clubhouse for lunch. Food excellent but service slow. Need more staff. Atmosphere very relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim O, General Manager at The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear primadonna83MA, Thank you for stepping away from the resort to enjoy lunch at the Clubhouse. We are very proud of the stunning views, tasty food and relaxed atmosphere the Clubhouse has to offer. I appreciate your helpful comments. Sincerely, Tim Ostrem, The Clubhouse More

Ontario
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Was in St. Andrews on a holiday and decided I had to play this historic course, even if it meant renting clubs. I'm glad I did as it is one of the most beautiful courses I have played. It's also very interesting and challenging, but reasonably fair. Roughly translated that means I was able to score only slightly above my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim O, General Manager at The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea, responded to this review

Dear Kingston_Lou, I was very pleased to read that you felt our course was one of the most beautiful you have played. We are very proud of the design and spectacular setting and glad you appreciated it. We aim to provide exceptional value and offer green fees as low as $35 and as high as $85. Be sure to keep... More

Travelers who viewed The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea also viewed

Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 

Been to The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing