We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A Paddle in the Park Kayaking

2320 Harbour Road, Sidney, British Columbia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 17 attractions in Sidney
Type: Tours
Description: Kayak rental tour gulf island Victoria bc Vancouver island
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    1
    0
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Upon our arrival, the owner told us to grab a boat and hardly even turned around to greet us – she didn’t even introduce herself. There was no instruction given about how to use the boat or what to what to do if we capsized, my boat didn’t have the proper safety gear (ie: kayak bilge pump). We paid for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

A big thank you to our amazing tour guide Marcus!! As first time kayakers out in the ocean my partner and I were a little nervous but only until we met Marcus and he put us right at ease. He was very knowledgable and we knew right away that he absolutely loves what he does. We enjoyed an amazing 4... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Marcus took us out on a four hour tour. We had a blast. The other part of our tour didn't like kayaking so he took them back early. When he returned he extended our trip. He really seemed to love kayaking and showing us the beautiful area. He made this a must do activity while in the Victoria area!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and we had an amazing afternoon on the water. Would definitely return for another trip! Not sure why there are reviews stating rude or poor service. We didn't experience any of that! If you want to go kayaking in the Sidney area you should go here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Victoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The owner very graciously let us postpone our first reservation and accommodated us today even though there was just my husband and I. We were groupon users. We enjoyed our tour immensely, a perfect four hours of paddling in calm waters seeing birds, seals, interesting rocks, homes, islands, found some sea glass on the shell beach where we enjoyed our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lake Cowichan, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The scenery is beautiful and guides are fantastic. This is a definite must do when visiting Vancouver Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

After making our reservation online on the companies website we printed off the directions which directed is to Dock E. We waited at the dock for 2.5 hours. We also wandered around the marina looking for someone who would let us know if they had moved. After reading other reviews on groupon stating their trips had been cancelled with little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Groupon reservation canceled by company evening prior, as "not enough people". Called to rebook and to explain that I was leaving in a week and would like some idea of when, in their experience, would be the best time to ensure they would have "enough people" so I could use my Groupon. I was rudely informed to just keep trying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kayak_girls, Owner at A Paddle in the Park Kayaking, responded to this review

I apologies, there was no rudeness intended. We reviewed are bookings and tried to find a booking you could be added to. Unfortunately we were not successful. This is not a common problem, but that week in question was very slow in bookings. Though the deal may expire, the value you paid for the groupon does not, so in the... More

Greene
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My dream of a Victoria vacation included a kayaking trip, and I tried for some time to arrange it. Kayaking tours do not yet seem to be as popular here as in some tourist destinations, and these people do not run as polished an operation as others I've encountered. They're running this business as a part-time venture, for the love... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Like the others I bought a groupon and booked months ago. I called today, being Saturday, to confirm. They called me back tonight to say my tour on Monday is cancelled as there aren't enough people, oh, and as that happens to be the last day of the promotional value if we rebook for another time we will have to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kayak_girls, Owner at A Paddle in the Park Kayaking, responded to this review

I apologies to anyone that has had a bad experience. The groupon conditions are very well stated and I would encourage you to consider if the conditions will work for your needs. As a part of the groupon deal, groupon provides the booking service through Groupon Scheduler. We set aside a side up 6 tour slots a day, Please read... More

Travelers who viewed A Paddle in the Park Kayaking also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to A Paddle in the Park Kayaking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Paddle in the Park Kayaking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing