We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Queen Cruise

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 9 Bay Street, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1S4, Canada
Phone Number: (705) 746-2311
Website
Improve this listing
Today
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description:

Enjoy a captain's-eye view of Georgian Bay's 30,000 Islands Biosphere...

Enjoy a captain's-eye view of Georgian Bay's 30,000 Islands Biosphere Reserve aboard the 550-passenger Island Queen. We offer two and three-hour sightseeing cruises that bring passengers surprisingly up-close to the pristine beauty of Georgian Bay's remote island wilderness and the rustic charm of its grand summer cottages. Follow in the wake of early explorers as the captain steers the ship past granite shoals into narrow channels and shallow waterways exploring out-of-the-way places within the world's largest freshwater archipelago. The Island Queen is fully equipped with comfortable inside and outside seating, large viewing windows, outside observation decks, wheelchair accessible washrooms, a snack bar, a full commentary and heat for our fall colour cruises. Cruises depart daily from June 1 to mid-October each year from the town dock in Parry Sound, Ontario.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 118 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 78
    Excellent
  • 31
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
It's OK

If you are over this way do the 3 hour cruise as I did , but that one is governed by the level of the lake at the time . It is reasonably interesting , but I wouldn't go out of my... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 weeks ago
squid9316
,
Mooloolaba, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are over this way do the 3 hour cruise as I did , but that one is governed by the level of the lake at the time . It is reasonably interesting , but I wouldn't go out of my way to do it again . I can't say I didn't enjoy the cruise , because I did... More 

Helpful?
Thank squid9316
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience on our tours. The water levels on Georgian Bay have been back to normal for two or three years now so our routes are the same as they've been for forty years. In fact, we only had to change the route for a few days quite... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

I personally have not been on the island queen, bit I have heard very good things about it. Where my parents live they can see it doing a showing.

Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! More 

Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

This cruise lasts for three hours and takes you around the waters of Georgian Bay. You see some wonderful cottages as well as the more traditional cottages, and you also see some of the most beautiful scenery in Ontario. It may seem a bit expensive but it is 3 hours of beautiful wate and scenery whatever the time of year.... More 

Helpful?
Thank gillandjohn4
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review

Dear Passenger, Thanks so much for the kind review. Thanks also for mentioning the our gift shop, the Boathouse. We now serve Kawartha Ice Cream! Thanks again. More 

Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015 via mobile

Very pleasant cruise. It was nice learning about the 30,000 islands. Glad we did the 3 hour cruise well worth the money.

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the nice review. We're glad you enjoyed your tour. More 

Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

The ship was spacious, clean and we had a smooth ride. We took the three hours green route and pass through many many islands, beautiful view. The captain mastered the ship really well and navigated through Hole in Wall, a tight channel that barely allow the ship to go through, the Devil's Elbow that take the ship for a tight... More 

Helpful?
Thank 33Grandma24
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review. We're so happy that you enjoyed your cruise. Yes, our captain's are pretty amazing! More 

Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

My husband and I took the 3 hour long cruise on Saturday, October 10th. We waited awhile to board but the cruise was well worth the wait. The day was partly cloudy but when the sun came out, we were able to sit on the top deck and found it to be quite pleasant. If we got cold, we went... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debra H
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review

Dear passenger, Thanks for taking the time to review our cruise. You chose a beautiful day to take the tour as the weather was perfect. Thanks again. More 

Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

We took the 3 hr cruise in October with our 3 children. The boat is roomy, there is a snack bar with hamburgers hotdogs pizza drinks and snacks. Stay on the right side on deck 3 or deck 2 for best viewing. Line up early to get those seats. Deck 3 is outside.

Helpful?
Thank Tassillo
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review

Dear passenger, Thanks for taking the time to review our cruise. We're glad you enjoyed it! More 

Kontich, Belgium
Level Contributor
147 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

Although we did not have the sunny weather we were hoping for, we booked this boat cruise along the multi-thousand islands in Georgian Bay. Because of the weather and also because of tourist season having ended, we had a lot of space on the boat to choose from. Preparation for the trip is very secure, so one gets a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Georges B
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review

Dear passenger, Thanks so much for reviewing the cruise. We have seen quite a few black bears this year but this is the first one we've seen that was swimming! We're so glad you enjoyed the cruise. Thanks for coming. More 

Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

This is a great cruise to see some magnificent and unique scenery. We went on a wet day with poor visibility, but even then it was excellent. On a bright sunny day it must be spectacular. Coffee and food on board is a good idea as the cruise takes a few hours.

Helpful?
Thank John W
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review

Dear passenger, Thanks so much for reviewing the cruise. The islands are stunning no matter the weather. Overcast days with a bit of mist are as wonderful as full sunshine when among the 30,000 Islands. Thanks again. More 

Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

We had a lovely 3 hr cruise on the Island Queen touring the 30,000 islands in the lakes around Parry Sound. We only wish there was more choice of food and drinks on the cruise as we boarded at 1:00pm and had not had any lunch prior to boarding due to our bus not arriving until 12:45.

Helpful?
Thank cestewart
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our cruise. We're glad you enjoyed it. We certainly don't have the same food selection of a fast food restaurant like Tim Horton's but we do offer Pizzaville pizza, hot dogs, sausage-on-a-bun, soups, Starbucks coffee and tea, soda pop, bottled water, Breyers ice cream bars, and a variety of baked goods... More 

Travelers who viewed Island Queen Cruise also viewed

Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Island Queen Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Island Queen Cruise and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
MISSISSAUGA
4 months ago
Ancaster, Canada
5 months ago
6 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Island Queen Cruise staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?