We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lightwater Valley Theme Park

North Stainley, North Stainley HG4 3NB, England
44-1765-635-321
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
Owner description: Escape to Lightwater Valley and discover the excitement of a day bursting with thrills, chills and adventure; catapult to dizzying heights aboard... more » Owner description: Escape to Lightwater Valley and discover the excitement of a day bursting with thrills, chills and adventure; catapult to dizzying heights aboard Whirlwind, a typhoon of screams that’ll twist even the bravest of souls, and hurtle through some of our deepest, darkest forest aboard Europe’s longest roller coaster – The Ultimate.Explore the swashbuckling world of Skeleton Cove, from the spinningly explosive Powder Kegs to the mighty Black Pearl, before venturing into the mysterious subterranean world of Raptor Attack’s abandoned mineshaft, shooting the raging water of the Wild River Rapids and ‘taking to the skies’ in the powerful grip of the Eagle’s Claw. « less
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    223
    103
    48
    64
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 NEW

was disgusted in the prices at lightwater valley £23 for a 6 year old and £28 for an adult, disgusting. The food prices were appalling as was the food from kiosk. The only good thing was angry birds play area but was not worth paying £23 for. Will not be paying another visit and would not recommend it to anyone.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

Fantastic day out for all the family before going was a little worried about what my sons would be able to.go on well I was worrying for nothing this park is fantastic for young children as well as the teens we took along. Small queues if none lots to see and do the park is extremely clean and well looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon E, Manager at Lightwater Valley Theme Park, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you had such a good time. We're hoping you can all make it back to the park again soon. Kind Regards, Simon More

Tranent, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

Visited on the 14th of July the park was ok but busy which led to long queues on some of the rides. The park food was poor value though and there were some issues with the rides breaking down.Overall the park and rides were ok but the queues and the maintenance were issues

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon E, Manager at Lightwater Valley Theme Park, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you feel disappointed over some aspects of your day. I am saddened to read that you had a negative experience with regards to our food. I do disagree with your point about the standard of the food served. We use the best quality products in our fast food... More

carlisle
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 NEW

Despite being very very busy we had a fabulous day. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. Park v clean despite thousands of school kids dropping litter. Had a voucher which helped with cost, same price as online. Special thanks to Kim in the customer service place. Toilets reasonablyclean despite it being so so busy

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon E, Manager at Lightwater Valley Theme Park, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to the theme park. We do our best to keep everything nice and tidy! We hope you'll be able to make it back to the theme park again soon. Kind Regards, Simon More

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 NEW

Been previously and loved the place rides are classics despite not being the largest, HOWEVER it would have been nice if the website had warning their would be 7000 school children on trips today as we were expecting to avoid ques by coming this week. This was made worse by several break downs and the newest ride not working the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon E, Manager at Lightwater Valley Theme Park, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you came on a busy day. We do our bests to inform guests when large school groups come to the park, but on occasion it is difficult to assess. As such, we apologies. However, I am glad to read that normally when you come to the park you... More

York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Having arrived today we walked in to a sign warning us that there would be a lot of school children there, precisely the reason we went before school holidays to avoid the crowds! the queues were ridiculous and having paid £56 to get in we went on just 4 rides before leaving. Why would you let so many children in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon E, Manager at Lightwater Valley Theme Park, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you feel disappointed by your visit. The schools throughout Yorkshire and the surrounding Districts all break up at different periods. What may be the start of the school break for some is an extra week for others. As such, we warn guests when they would be visiting during... More

Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Visited on a Sunday, 2 adults,14 and 10 yr olds. Having read and heard one or two conflicting reports on the theme park we were pleasantly surprised. We had a fantastic time! Rides for all the family, superb value for money when you book on line. We didn't try the food as we followed advice and took a picnic, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon E, Manager at Lightwater Valley Theme Park, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review. I am thrilled to read that you decided to come to the park and had a great time. Hopefully, we'll see you all again soon! Kind Regards, Simon More

Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We really enjoyed our dayout here. We found it to very clean and maintained, food was good. Set in pleasant surroundings and rides to suit all ages I would recommend this for a visit. Having visited quite a few theme parks in England I would say this one is the cleanest I have visited. Certainly not tired and dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon E, Manager at Lightwater Valley Theme Park, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review. Really pleased to read that you had a good visit. We certainly do our best to keep the park well kept and clean. We hope you'll all be able to make it back to the park again soon. Kind Regards, Simon More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Great for students!!! We only payed £17 entry with a student card. We printed 20% off food vouchers from the Internet so we only payed £5.60 for a meal deal which where very good value for money. The ques where not to long and well managed we got on every ride, although there is more for children than adults. Overall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon E, Manager at Lightwater Valley Theme Park, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review. Really pleased to read that you had a good visit. We hope you'll all be able to make it back to the park again soon. Kind Regards, Simon More

Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were in Ripon today for another event and hoped to spend the afternoon at Lightwater Valley. Unfortunately we chose not to go in due to the cost... 3 over 1.3m @ £28... Plus 3 kids between 1m-1.3m @ £23 each would have been £153! I should have checked this before visiting. We were at Drayton Manor during the week... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon E, Manager at Lightwater Valley Theme Park, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for writing in. Though I think there has been some confusion over our prices, I am not sure if you have written your review about the right theme park as our prices are very reasonable. At present, our prices work out at the following: Guests under 1.0m in height £5.00 Guests aged under 2 years old Free... More

Travelers who viewed Lightwater Valley Theme Park also viewed

 

Been to Lightwater Valley Theme Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lightwater Valley Theme Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing