We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Haunted Walk of Ottawa

Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 46 1/2 Sparks Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5A8, Canada
Phone Number: 613-232-0344
Website
Today
9:30 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Sat 9:30 am - 9:00 pm

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 257 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 143
    Excellent
  • 80
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Crime&Punishment and Original Walk--Both Excellent!

I went to Ottawa for a one night stay with friends. Wanting to make the most of our time, we enjoyed two tours with the Haunted Walk of Ottawa. We went on both the Crime and... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 29, 2015
Adeline V

Similar Things to Do in Ottawa

Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

I went to Ottawa for a one night stay with friends. Wanting to make the most of our time, we enjoyed two tours with the Haunted Walk of Ottawa. We went on both the Crime and Punishment tour at the Carleton Jail and the Original Haunted Walk. The Carleton Jail was super creepy! I definitely had goosebumps while there. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

The tour was very rushed, we didn't have much time to look around or take photos. The host was poor at telling the stories, the stories in general were very uninteresting. We thought touring an old jail house would be cool, exciting and creepy but most of our tour group would agree it felt more like being stuck in history... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW via mobile

As soon as we arrived in Ottawa my 13 year old son saw the signs for Haunted Ottawa and wanted to go but realized that no everyone in our family would like to go. He didn't push for me and him to go. When he spotted Caroline he followed the group on his skateboard urging me to come. He heard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 NEW

The Original Haunted Walk Tour should be renamed the Historic Walking Tour of Ottawa. It's not a bad tour, in fact I quite enjoyed learning a bit of Ottawa's history from our very enthusiastic guide (who had the perfect Irish accent for these stories). My issue is that I have always wanted to go on one of these tours, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JimHW, Manager at Haunted Walk of Ottawa, responded to this review

Thanks for joining us for a tour and sharing your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour guide. We can understand your disappointment if you were expecting to go inside buildings. On our tours we do share real-life ghost stories that have been thoroughly researched, rather than adding fictional elements, embellishments, or horror for horror's sake. We... More 

Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 NEW

I visited ottawa with a group of friends last weekend and we decided to do two tours all in one night! I've done the tours in Kingston before so I had high hopes for these, and they certainly didn't disappoint! The first was the crime and punishment tour with our guide Karen who took us through the jail! Karen's puns... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JimHW, Manager at Haunted Walk of Ottawa, responded to this review

Thanks for joining us for the Crime and Punishment and Original Haunted Walk. We'll be sure to pass along your excellent review to both Karen and Charlie! More 

Grand Bend, Canada
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015 NEW

Let me start off by saying that you must do one of these tours! Our guide was a great storyteller and very knowledgeable and the tour itself was fantastic. The guide led us around the city and jail late in the evening, captivating their audience with spine-chilling stories in which will definitely give you goosebumps. I personally enjoyed hearing about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JimHW, Manager at Haunted Walk of Ottawa, responded to this review

Thanks for writing us a review! We love to have people come back again and again, and to enjoy their experience every time. We really appreciate you sending your groups to us, and hope we'll continue to see them for future tours! More 

Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

I attended a Haunted Walk the last time I was in Ottawa and wrote a review about the Crime and Punishment tour because it was super entertaining and enjoyable. I enjoyed it enough that I decided to attend it again this past weekend while visiting Ottawa. I wasn't going to write a review for this tour because I already did,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
JimHW, Manager at Haunted Walk of Ottawa, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting us a second time in your travels to Ottawa and taking the time to share your review! More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Lady Payton dressed in her wedding dress and assorted other time travel gear was entertaining and very comfortable tour guide. She shared some interesting stories with a compelling twist that we were travelling through time. This is a great tour to take with older kids. The walk was not too far or vigourous. This is a great way to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JimHW, Manager at Haunted Walk of Ottawa, responded to this review

Thanks for time traveling through Ottawa with us! We really appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. Hope to see you again! More 

common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

I was required to take the Crime and Punishment tour for a university course. I attended the tour this past Sunday and immediately left feeling underwhelmed and disappointing in the behavior that was allowed by the tour guide, as well as the amount of time we spent in the jail/information we received. First of all I did appreciate that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JimHW, Manager at Haunted Walk of Ottawa, responded to this review

Hi Fiona - We are very sorry did not enjoy your tour. As we received excellent feedback from the tour that night (see pervious review), we can only conclude that the tour failed to meet you specific needs. As we discussed on the phone when you called immediately following your exam, we had no control over the questions on your... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

I went on both the Crime and Punishment and Original Haunted Walk tours last night and they were both AMAZING! Our tour guides (Karen and Charlie respectively) were superb story tellers, giving the stories a great (and spooky) tone. I had such a wonderful experience with the haunted walk of Ottawa I'm already planning my next trip to come back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JimHW, Manager at Haunted Walk of Ottawa, responded to this review

Thanks for making two of our tours a part of your trip to Ottawa! We really appreciate the review, and will be sure to let Karen and Charlie know you enjoyed the tours. More 

Travelers who viewed Haunted Walk of Ottawa also viewed

 

Been to Haunted Walk of Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haunted Walk of Ottawa

Address: 46 1/2 Sparks Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5A8, Canada
Phone Number: 613-232-0344
Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Ottawa>  > Byward Market Area
Open Hours:
Sunday 6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday 9:30 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday 9:30 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 9:30 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday 9:30 am - 9:00 pm
Friday 9:30 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday 9:30 am - 9:00 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Haunted Walk of Ottawa and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Haunted Walk of Ottawa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?