We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Haunted Walk of Ottawa

Address: 46 1/2 Sparks Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5A8, Canada (Byward Market Area)
Phone Number: 613-232-0344
Website
Improve this listing
88%
Ranked #2 of 28 Sightseeing Tours in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Ghost & vampire tours, Sightseeing Tours
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator
Attraction details
Type: Ghost & vampire tours, Sightseeing Tours
Hours:
Sun 6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Sat 9:30 am - 9:00 pm
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator

Hotels near Haunted Walk of Ottawa

Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    67
    15
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

My sister's & I are very big zombie fans. We enjoy The Walking Dead and those sorts of things. It was advertised as a scary experience and I was disappointed at the end of this tour. You don't get a scary experience. They build it up and nothing happens. No one ever is really coming after you, so the definite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Living and working in Ottawa, I didn't expect this tour to be as much fun or as much exercise as it was. Lots of stairs... We did the walk a few nights be Halloween. I agree with LeeAnneCanada, more historical facts would make it much better. They have to get their facts straight. That being said, the delivery was great.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
78 attraction reviews
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

I thought this was a great way to tour an unexplored city. The tour itself was interesting, but was lacking on historical facts. It started in the D’arcy McGee Restaurant next door from the Haunted Walk where the waitress told us that we would go to the site of the last execution in Canada. I was pretty sure that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JimHW, Manager at Haunted Walk of Ottawa, responded to this review

Hi LeeAnne! Thanks for joining us! We love talking history, so let's see if we can address some of your points. It does appear your tour guide misspoke, was misheard or was misunderstood. As a company we do refer to Patrick Whelan's execution as "one of the last public executions in Canada." Was Whelan's the last "public" execution in Canada?... More 

Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

You don't often think about ghost stories when getting ready for the Christmas holidays, but when I heard about The Haunted Walk's Nightmare Before Xmas I decided it would be something different to do with the family. It was a beautiful evening for exploring part of Ottawa and seeing the Christmas lights. Our guide was excellent. Very engaging, easy to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Recently I took my 10 year old and her friends (ages 9-12) to the Original Haunted Walk - Ottawa, Even though they were the only kids in the group, they enjoyed it so much. They had a wonderful time, and the stories and contents were perfect for all ages, not disturbingly scarey, and also not too naive or silly. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

It was definitely interesting, you get to know more about the history of the city. However, it wasn't as scary as one would have hope for on Halloween.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I figured by going on the Haunted Walk on Halloween would be a good idea... but it was a huge waste of money. Considering the trip costs us $17 a person we were sorely disappointed. There were over 30 people on our tour which made it nearly impossible to have a good experience with so many people talking and on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JimHW, Manager at Haunted Walk of Ottawa, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us. To be fair though, the tour you took was "The Original Haunted Walk - Canada's Scariest Stories." Normally on the Original Haunted Walk we only tell stories about /from Ottawa, but as a special feature during the Halloween Season we tell some of our favourite ghost stories from across... More 

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

This is a great way to get hyped up about Halloween! Getting chased by zombies in an underground tunnel really got the adrenaline pumping! My friend and I hadn't been to the deifenbunker before so it was a really great way to see it. In fact, I liked this tour so much, it made me want to see what the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Jasmine was our tour guide, she rocked. Very entertaining and different activity. Very cool how there was some real facts and reality mixed with the whole scenario.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

A really fun and creative tour for the Halloween season! The guides were very enthusiastic and the delivery of the story was well crafted. The bunker makes for a great location to enhance the zombie storyline. It was a lot of fun getting to visit a historical landmark in this new and exciting way. I would definitely recommend the Incident... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Haunted Walk of Ottawa also viewed

 

Been to Haunted Walk of Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Haunted Walk of Ottawa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?