We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whistler Sliding Centre

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 4910 Glacier Lane, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number: +1 604-964-0040
Website
Description: Welcome to the Whistler Sliding Centre located in the beautiful...
Welcome to the Whistler Sliding Centre located in the beautiful Fitzsimmons valley on the southeast slope of Blackcomb Mountain. The Whistler Sliding Centre was the site of the bobsleigh, luge and skeleton competitions for the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games. This high performance, world-class sliding sports venue hosts seasonal training and competitions for local, national and international athletes! The Whistler Sliding Centre's public activities include the Winter Bobsleigh & Skeleton Sport Experience Programs (on ice!) and the Summer Bobsleigh Experience (on wheels!). Come on up to the track and experience the thrill of a lifetime! Our 2015 Summer Public Program runs from June 27th - September 6th - book online now! *The Whistler Sliding Centre is a non-for-profit organization with all proceeds going back into sport and our athletes.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 177 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 140
    Excellent
  • 30
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
A bit disappointing

We were in Whistler between seasons but wanted to see the Sliding Centre. We had heard that they did summer slides but we were there a little early for this. I was amazed to see... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 29, 2015
RobinMc882
,
Adelaide, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this attraction
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
115 attraction reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 NEW

We were in Whistler between seasons but wanted to see the Sliding Centre. We had heard that they did summer slides but we were there a little early for this. I was amazed to see how rundown the centre looked. It was overgrown be grass in the middle of the track and a lot of the signs were ripped and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WSL2010, Marketing Specialist at Whistler Sliding Centre, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your review. Unfortunately you visited us in the off-season, our summer bobsleigh experience has meanwhile opened to the public on June 27. We will review your comments about our signage to ensure that all warnings and safety signs are in place. The Whistler Sliding Centre is located on Blackcomb Mountain in the middle of... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

The staff are very friendly and enthusiastic and seem passionate for bobsledding which was appreciated. The location is amazing! It brought back a lot of memories of the 2010 Olympic games. There are plenty of photo opportunities. I would definitely recommend this attraction, especially for families with children. The ride down the bobsled was not as fast as expected and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Unfortunately, the track was closed. Well, kind of... We were able to visit the slide center which is like a museum at the moment. During the season you're able to hit the track for I believe $90. Unfortunately, the track was closed at the moment. Though, you could take a look at others who were allowed to go down. Initially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WSL2010, Marketing Specialist at Whistler Sliding Centre, responded to this review

Hello Rick, Thank you very much for your review. Unfortunately on the day that you were here our summer bobsleigh experience was not open to the public yet (it is now, we opened on June 27) and we were doing training runs for our staff. The group that you saw going down in between the staff runs was a pre-booked... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

This would definitely have been 5 stars if there had been bob sleds running! ( opens June 27th). The center was open for walking around and taking pictures. I was amazed by the length, curves, steepness, and narrowness of the track! I will watch the "sliders" with a new appreciation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rock Creek, Canada
Top Contributor
366 reviews 366 reviews
204 attraction reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Great fun awaits you and family. Lots to do and see as you enjoy this place. Kids can enjoy themselves while parents enjoy their break from the action

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aylesbury
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

I'm sat here trying to think of adjectives to describe the Bobsledding experience at the sliding centre and I can't find any to describe it. It's like nothing else I've ever experienced, no roller coaster even comes close and it's without a doubt one of my favourite life experiences. The staff at the centre are welcoming, funny and knowledgeable. Their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Columbia, MD
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We took friends to the Whistler Sliding Center the second week of March. I don't think they were that interested, but they were good sports. We didn't go to slide. We went to the visitor center for a look around and were very pleasantly surprised. A very nice gentleman working there very patiently answered all of our questions and told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

What did the reviewers get wrong? For me, I seriously hope this is not a "once in a lifetime experience" but something I get to do at least every year and only regret not living closer so I could be back on a skeleton more often than that. My wife and I went up to Whistler in February mostly for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

i had an amazing time on both the four man bobsleigh and the skeleton great day thanks to all the helpful staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Fantastic! The sliding centre is a product of the Vancouver Olympics in 2010 and still looks and feels brand new. Whats more you can partake in the Bobsleigh or Skeleton. I have done both and both are equally as good. Bobsleigh is insanely fast where as the Skeleton is extremely scary but both really safe and an amazing adrenaline rush!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed Whistler Sliding Centre also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Whistler Sliding Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler Sliding Centre

Address: Address: 4910 Glacier Lane, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number: +1 604-964-0040
Location: Canada  >  British Columbia  >  Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Whistler Sliding Centre and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Cork, Ireland
5 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Whistler Sliding Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?