We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Km 6 Carr Garrafon | Mz 41 Lote 12 SMNZ 9 Punta Sur, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number: 52 998-193-33-60
Website
Activities: Snorkeling, Hiking
Description: Garrafon Park is a natural wonder on the island paradise of Isla Mujeres...
Garrafon Park is a natural wonder on the island paradise of Isla Mujeres. With a spectacular reef for snorkeling, sprawling green areas with hammock gardens, cliffside paths, zip lines, kayaks, bicycles and the best views in the Mexican Caribbean, Garrafon Park is the ideal way to spend a day with your loved ones.
read more
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$99*
and up
Isla Mujeres Garrafon Natural Reef Park VIP Pass

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 822 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 347
    Excellent
  • 237
    Very good
  • 117
    Average
  • 69
    Poor
  • 52
    Terrible
Most recent review
Not Xcaret but worth the visit

We visited after 1pm and received a discounted rate. You don't need more then 4 hours to enjoy this park. The zipline was simple but the kids loved it. The snorkeling is... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed March 24, 2015
Andrew N
Add Photo Write a Review

822 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

This place offers snorkeling for 30 bucks a person, and the snorkeling is the worst I've ever seen. The zip line is weak, and the whole place was a waste of time and money. I would never go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Garrafon Natural Reef Park, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for taking the time of sharing your visit with us, we are really sorry your experience was not the most satisfying. We really appreciate your comments and opinions on our park attractions and food, so we will be sending them to our General Manager to work on improving the quality of our service. Dolphin... More 

Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

We visited after 1pm and received a discounted rate. You don't need more then 4 hours to enjoy this park. The zipline was simple but the kids loved it. The snorkeling is mediocre but easy and the kayaking is what it is. The equipment is all a bit cheap and the buffet lunch was weak, but all in all not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Garrafon Natural Reef Park, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We appreciate you shared your experience with us, we are sorry that your visit was not the most exceptional yet we are glad your kids enjoyed the zip line. Please know that your comments will be sent to the General Manager to work on improving the quality of our service. Dolphin Discovery Group appreciates your preference and hopes... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015 NEW

Really lovely place to go to but does need updating! The mattresses on the bed had seen better days, we did the VIP upgrade which was definitely worth doing. There are hot tubs on the roof overlooking the sea which was beautiful. The zip wires were fun but again could do with being updated as the stairs weren't very secure.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Garrafon Natural Reef Park, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We are grateful you took a moment to share your experience with us, we really appreciate your opinion on our facilities, food and staff. Please know that your comments will be sent to the General Manager to work on improving the quality of our service. Dolphin Discovery Group appreciates your preference and hopes to see you again soon. More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 attraction reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015 NEW

this is the biggest tourist trap we encountered on the island. we started out paying for the kids to swim with the dolphins...and were told we needed wrist bands for garrafon. we were fine with that. we were told everything was included in our wristbands (adults)...food, open bar, zip line, snorkeling, etc. as we waited for the kids to swim,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Garrafon Natural Reef Park, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We are grateful you took a moment to share your experience with us, we are sorry that your visit was unsatisfying due to the misinformation and the overall feeling of indiference from our staff, please know that your comments will be sent to the General Manager to work on improving the quality of our service. Dolphin Discovery Group... More 

Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Picture perfect views all around! Non motorized water sports heaven if you love being in the water, nice snorkeling IF the weather helps. Relaxing beach area with hammocks and a reef view pool, I know most of the hotels in Cancún, Cozumel and Riviera Maya offer nice pools with great views and water sports as well so if you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Garrafon Natural Reef Park, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We are grateful you took a moment to share your experience with us, we are sorry that your visit was not the most pleasant due to the price of the entrance vs the service, please know that your comments will be sent to the General Manager to work on improving the quality of our service. Dolphin Discovery Group... More 

Trail B,C
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This place is just a place for tourists to throw their money away. If you came here from 1 star hotel in Cancun that is miles from any beach and has no pool it might be worth it, if they didn't charge so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Garrafon Natural Reef Park, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We are grateful you took a moment to share your experience with us, we are sorry that your experience was not the most pleasant due to the price of the entrance, please know that your comments will be sent to the General Manager to work on improving the quality of our service. Dolphin Discovery Group appreciates your preference... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I think this would be a great trip if you didn't enjoy your hotel pool. Good: Snorkeling although small, was pretty good! Saw plenty of fish, a squid, and even a starfish. Make sure to swim out far enough, because the part closest to shore is cloudy. Food:Buffet wasn't bad and had some solid dishes for everyone. Lot's of iguanas!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Garrafon Natural Reef Park, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We are grateful you took a moment to share your experience with us, we are sorry that your experience was not the most pleasant due to the price of the entry vs what you get, please know that your comments will be sent to the General Manager to work on improving the quality of our service. Dolphin Discovery... More 

Richmond, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Admittedly, I was not all excited about the Garrafon but we were staying nearby and my kids really wanted to go. Turned out to be much better than I expected. When we we there it was rough water so the snorkeling was not an option and that is probably the best reason to go. I imagine it is great when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Garrafon Natural Reef Park, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We are grateful you took a moment to share your experience with us, we are glad your expectations were surpassed yet not satisfied due to the entrance price. Please know that your comments will be sent to the General Manager to work on improving the quality of our service. Dolphin Discovery Group appreciates your preference and hopes to... More 

Comfort, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Everything is included in your entrance fee, so get there early, bring plenty of sun screen and enjoy the snorkeling, infinity pool, zip line and open bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Garrafon Natural Reef Park, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We are grateful you took a moment to share your experience with us, we are really glad your visit was satisfying, please know that your comments will be sent to the General Manager to work on improving the quality of our service. Dolphin Discovery Group appreciates your preference and hopes to see you again soon More 

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015 via mobile

I was hesitant about the price, but they had good food and drinks. The pools were nice if it wasn't too crowded. I had never been zip linking before but it was so much fun and a very scenic area. We tried to go snorkeling but the water was very choppy the day we went.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Garrafon Natural Reef Park, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We are grateful you took a moment to share your experience with us, we are sorry that your experience was not the most pleasant due to the bad weather yet you found it enjoyable because of the zip lines, please know that your comments will be sent to the General Manager to work on improving the quality of... More 

Travelers who viewed Garrafon Natural Reef Park also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Garrafon Natural Reef Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Garrafon Natural Reef Park and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Garrafon Natural Reef Park staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?