We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Havensight Mall, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas (Formerly The Butterfly Farm)
Phone Number: +340-715-3366
Description: Stroll through a lush tropical garden as exotic butterflies take flight...
Stroll through a lush tropical garden as exotic butterflies take flight around you. Learn about their amazing life cycles during a guided tour. Wear bright colors to attract the butterflies to land on you. Double the fun and take a stroll through the outside botanical gardens showcasing a wide variety of local plants and butterfly species. Bring your camera! Open daily in season 8:30am - 4pm. May to October schedule may vary so call ahead.
read more
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
More Info
$12*
and up
St Thomas Butterfly Garden Tour with Optional...
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 73 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 24
    Excellent
  • 22
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
A NICE PORT ADVENTURE

We chose this as one of our port adventures. It was very nice. One huge butterfly, shown in the picture, actually landed on my son and didn't want to leave. It is a nice garden... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 1, 2015
Dianne M
,
Kimberling City, Mo
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this attraction
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kimberling City, Mo
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 NEW

We chose this as one of our port adventures. It was very nice. One huge butterfly, shown in the picture, actually landed on my son and didn't want to leave. It is a nice garden and a nice place to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenwood, Arkansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 NEW

Very informative Butterfly Garden. The hosts were a lot of fun and the butterflies weren't afraid to lite on you. Recommended for avid Butterfly buffs and children. So many species I wasn't aware of. The bird show wasn't available and I was a little disappointed with the website announcement because it wasn't as thrilling in person as the ad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 NEW

The garden was as spectacular as the butterflies. Make sure you listen to the presentation. Well done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

I got to say that this was a disappointment. For four people to go in with an infant child, and for it to be $48, that's a bit steep. The area is small, maybe 40' x 60', and you had to really hunt for much butterfly action. This is a 30 minute experience, at best. 30 minutes for 4 people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Took my 3 grandchildren there. I've been to several Butterfly gardens around the world, and without a doubt this is one of the poorest examples I've encountered. From not understanding how a bar code pre-paid ticket would work, to absolutely no information about a tour or when it would start (even though this seemed to be a requirement for entering),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

It is a worthwhile experience. My wife and I, we enjoyed our visit to the garden and left in an uplifted mood. Definitely we would visit again The Butterfly Garden. The garden is rather small and there is room for improvement. Though it is a delicate business.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Butterfly Garden. More 

Norwalk, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

We paid the fee and entered the garden only to utterly disappointed. No one was there to give the tour so we wandered around on our own. When the guide finally showed up we were ready to go and in no mood for whatever 'tour' was going to be offered.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marketing D, Owner at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

We regret that you did not enjoy your visit to the Butterfly Garden and left before the guided tour. Our guided tours of the garden, which provide close up views of butterflies in various stages of development, are quite informative. Sometimes it is difficult to spot the butterflies as they are feeding or resting if you are not there during... More 

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

This was something we just stumbled on. The ladies who gave our tour were so kind and informative. We loved being able to touch and hold the butterflies. A great experience for all of us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

We are so glad that you found us and stopped by to see our lovely butterflies. We are just on the other side of Senor Frogs. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

It a five minute walk to them from the port. It was a beautiful place. And great people that work there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

We are just behind Senor Frogs and very easy to walk to from the ships. More 

Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 attraction reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

After reading reviews and after visiting a butterfly garden in Koh Samui I was looking forward to this visit. However I left feeling exceptionally disappointed and annoyed. The price was 12 dollars which is not that bad however the garden is a cage of about 80 metres by 40 metres with limited trees . I was shocked to see a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marketing D, Owner at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

We regret that you did not enjoy your visit to the Butterfly Garden. We endeavor to provide an entertaining and educational experience about butterflies. The butterflies in the window of the laboratory are newly emergent. We keep the chrysalises in our lab room because they are most vulnerable to predators (lizards, frogs, birds etc.) when emerging. In this room, they... More 

Travelers who viewed The Butterfly Garden also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to The Butterfly Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Butterfly Garden

Address: Address: Havensight Mall, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas (Formerly The Butterfly Farm)
Phone Number: +340-715-3366
Location: Caribbean  >  U.S. Virgin Islands  >  St. Thomas  >  Charlotte Amalie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Butterfly Garden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?