We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Havensight Mall, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas (Formerly The Butterfly Farm)
Phone Number: +340-715-3366
Description: Stroll through a lush tropical garden as exotic butterflies take flight...
Stroll through a lush tropical garden as exotic butterflies take flight around you. Learn about their amazing life cycles during a guided tour. Wear bright colors to attract the butterflies to land on you. Double the fun and take a stroll through the outside botanical gardens showcasing a wide variety of local plants and butterfly species. Bring your camera! Open daily in season 8:30am - 4pm. May to October schedule may vary so call ahead.
read more
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
More Info
$12*
and up
St Thomas Butterfly Garden Tour with Optional...
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 77 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 25
    Excellent
  • 25
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Nice Garden with Butterflies

This was a nice experience. Not a lot of butterflies but nice for what they had. We went here after going to the Coral World and not a lot to do but nice.

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 18, 2015
Dianne M
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

This was a nice experience. Not a lot of butterflies but nice for what they had. We went here after going to the Coral World and not a lot to do but nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed the Butterfly Garden. More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

We took our children here while waiting for our tour time. It was both educational and fun for our whole family. It is small but worth the visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

Bright colors and sweet perfumes attract the butterflies to you. More 

St. Thomas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Tucked away down the end of the cruise ship dock in Havensight, this little attraction is quiet, relaxing and educational. Walk along the sandy paths between the local plants and flowers and seek out the beautiful multicolored butterflies or sit under a canopy of flowers and let the butterflied come to you. This is a much slower paced attraction -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

The Butterfly Garden is the perfect place to get away form the hustle and bustle of the cruise ship crowd. With beautiful flowers and exotic butterflies, the calm peaceful serenity will rejuvenate you. More 

Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

My husband and I decided to stop in here to kill some time on our trip. We weren't quite sure what to expect, but we ended up enjoying it quite a bit. It's a small garden area with some paths and plants. In the back there are several cocoons where you can see butterflies emerging. One of the employees brought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

We are so glad you stopped by to visit our garden. More 

Kimberling City, Mo
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

We chose this as one of our port adventures. It was very nice. One huge butterfly, shown in the picture, actually landed on my son and didn't want to leave. It is a nice garden and a nice place to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

It is good luck when a butterfly lands on you. More 

Greenwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Very informative Butterfly Garden. The hosts were a lot of fun and the butterflies weren't afraid to lite on you. Recommended for avid Butterfly buffs and children. So many species I wasn't aware of. The bird show wasn't available and I was a little disappointed with the website announcement because it wasn't as thrilling in person as the ad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

The bird show is no longer at the Butterfly Garden. We enjoy sharing information on Butterflies and their life cycle. More 

Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

The garden was as spectacular as the butterflies. Make sure you listen to the presentation. Well done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed visiting the Butterfly Garden. More 

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

I got to say that this was a disappointment. For four people to go in with an infant child, and for it to be $48, that's a bit steep. The area is small, maybe 40' x 60', and you had to really hunt for much butterfly action. This is a 30 minute experience, at best. 30 minutes for 4 people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

The Butterfly Garden is $12 for adult and $6 for kids 3-12. It is for people to learn about the life cycle of butterflies, learn about what they like to eat and see the beautiful colors of the flowers sprayed throughout the garden. A calm and peaceful atmosphere where guest can relax. More 

Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Took my 3 grandchildren there. I've been to several Butterfly gardens around the world, and without a doubt this is one of the poorest examples I've encountered. From not understanding how a bar code pre-paid ticket would work, to absolutely no information about a tour or when it would start (even though this seemed to be a requirement for entering),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

We apologize for your experience at our Butterfly Garden. We have had a few new employees that have started and a new volunteer. And sometimes new employees have to ask questions. We do not post the times of tours because the tours start when guests come in and not at set times. More 

Belle Mead, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

It is a worthwhile experience. My wife and I, we enjoyed our visit to the garden and left in an uplifted mood. Definitely we would visit again The Butterfly Garden. The garden is rather small and there is room for improvement. Though it is a delicate business.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marketing D, Manager at The Butterfly Garden, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Butterfly Garden. More 

Travelers who viewed The Butterfly Garden also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to The Butterfly Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Butterfly Garden

Address: Havensight Mall, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas (Formerly The Butterfly Farm)
Phone Number: +340-715-3366
Location: Caribbean  >  U.S. Virgin Islands  >  St. Thomas  >  Charlotte Amalie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Butterfly Garden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?