We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolphin Discovery Tortola

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Prospect Reef Resort, Road Town VG1110, Tortola
Phone Number: 1-866-393-5158
Website
Improve this listing
Description:

Dolphin Discovery invites you to live the dream of swimming with dolphins...

Dolphin Discovery invites you to live the dream of swimming with dolphins in the Caribbean paradise of Tortola. We offer a range of programs for all ages, a family-friendly adventure you will never forget.

read more
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
More Info
$207*
and up
Tortola Dolphin Swim with Round-Trip Ferry from...
More Info
$99*
and up
Tortola Dolphin Swim Adventure
More Info
$79*
and up
Tortola Dolphin Discovery Swim

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 317 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 184
    Excellent
  • 80
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
Swimming with the Dolphins..

Went there with our friends, had made a prior appointment with them on their site. When we got there we were all thinking "Oh No!" The walk up the driveway to go there showed a... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago
Sioned1
,
Selden, New York
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selden, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went there with our friends, had made a prior appointment with them on their site. When we got there we were all thinking "Oh No!" The walk up the driveway to go there showed a ramshackle look and faded advertisement billboard. When we entered the courtyard it was a total different look and feel which we were very happy to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sioned1
Madison, South Dakota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We went here on a Monday and due to no cruise ships on that day it was just me, Elwin the trainer and sweet dolphin Graciea! One of the best days of my life! Soooo much fun! Edwin explained to me all about the dolphins and then taught me how to make her do so many cool tricks! I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank chelestravels
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Originally I thought this would be cheese. It was fun. Our trainer knew a lot of interesting facts that made it more fun. I was uncomfortable witht the smelly life vests we had to wear and the high pressure sales tactics to try and get us to buy photos at the end

Helpful?
Thank lethale
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Tortola, responded to this review

Hi traveller, Thank you for letting us know your opinion. We are glad you had fun at Dolphin Discovery Tortola. Dolphin Discovery Group appreciates your preference and hopes to see you again. Greetings. More 

Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The facility appears to be a bit shabby. Even after paying a ridiculous amount for this port excursion, the facility won't allow personal photos of you with the dolphins. The do have photographers on hand and no problem charging inordinate amounts for the photos that their photographers took. The water seemed dirty and murky and this is the same water... More 

Helpful?
Thank UnoRedskinsFan
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Tortola, responded to this review

Dear traveller, Thank you for letting us know your opinion about this experience. We are sure that swimming with dolphins is a great adventure. About the photos prices, we will let the General Manager know about your opinion, but is worth to mention that our picture prices are based according to the local market, and we don't allow other cameras... More 

Buckhannon, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don't under stand how they can process your reservation and take your payment, then call up and say they are full and can not accept your reservation?

Helpful?
Thank bresmom223
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Tortola, responded to this review

Hello Traveller, Please be sure to check your Private Message Inbox. Thank you and hope to hear from you soon. Greetings More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would love to rate the attraction itself, but I cant and at this point may not ever. My kids were really looking forward to this excursion. Unfortunately do to a seaweed issue it was closed. Completely NOT the fault of this vendor. However, when I contacted the company for a refund, I kept getting told it was in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank L R
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Tortola, responded to this review

Dear traveller, First of all, thank you very much for taking your time to write about us. On the other hand we regret that you felt the service was not as you expected, your comments are well appreciated and we will let the General Manager know about it so we can improve the quality of our service, we already sent... More 

NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While swimming with dolphins might not be the unique experience it once was (since you can do it so many places these days), it's still a very, very cool thing to do. I'd summarize our experience at Dolphin Discovery as great, in the water. The trainers were patient and explained everything going on, and made adults and kids feel comfortable.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dave_261
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Tortola, responded to this review

Dear dave, We appreciate that you took some of your time to write about your experience with us, and above all, that you enjoyed your time with dolphins. We apologize about the "waiting time", but sometimes we are full, so we want to give each of our guests the best experience of their lives. Moreover, we will let the General... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I did the dolphin swim experience in July. The dolphin trainer was great, and the experience was very good. However towards the end when we came up looking at the photos, the photographer was extremely pushy and before letting us even see the any photos- wrote a receipt for an album (70$) and said we can pay... More 

Helpful?
Thank edost4
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Tortola, responded to this review

Dear traveller, First of all thank you for letting us know about your experience with us. We are happy that you liked swimming with dolphins. In addition, we are glad you shared your opinion about the photos, be sure we will let the General Manager know about it, so he can talk to our photographer's team. We appreciate your preference... More 

Lancaster County, PA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a glorious and unforgettable morning on the excursion through Norwegian Cruise Line. I have fulfilled a lifelong dream of a close encounter with "Gracie", a beautiful and gentle dolphin. We were taught about their habitat and how to use the hand language that the dolphins understand and respond to. Then we were given life vests and walked into... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SallyJ_V_12
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Tortola, responded to this review

Dear Sally, Thank you very much for taking from your time to write about your experience at Dolphin Discovery Tortola. We are happy that you enjoyed this great experience! Gracie is adorable, she is always happy to play and kiss you. We appreciate your preference and we hope to see you again. Greetings. More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The trainers were nice and my family had a fun time. Beware they poke your eyes out with the prices for pictures. $190.00 for 10 pics or $300 for all the pics they take of you.

Helpful?
Thank aloha210
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Tortola, responded to this review

Dear traveller, Thank you for taking from your time to write about your experience at Dolphin Discovery Tortola. We are happy that our team was nice with you and that your family had lots of fun with us. On the other hand, we will let the General Manager know your opinion about the photos prices. We hope to see you... More 

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Discovery Tortola also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Road Town, Tortola
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Dolphin Discovery Tortola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dolphin Discovery Tortola and other visitors
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Dolphin Discovery Tortola staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?