We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolphin Discovery Tortola

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Prospect Reef Resort, Road Town VG1110, Tortola
Phone Number: 1-866-393-5158
Website
Description: Dolphin Discovery invites you to live the dream of swimming with dolphins...
Dolphin Discovery invites you to live the dream of swimming with dolphins in the Caribbean paradise of Tortola. We offer a range of programs for all ages, a family-friendly adventure you will never forget.
read more
Visit Dolphin Discovery Tortola like an insider
$79*
and up

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 233 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 130
    Excellent
  • 61
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Fantastic opportunity, expensive photos

This was my first time swimming with the dolphins, and I paid the extra 20$ EACH to have both optional experiences (dorsal swim and foot push swim). The experience with the... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 30, 2015
Waund3rlust
,
Hamilton, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015 NEW

This was my first time swimming with the dolphins, and I paid the extra 20$ EACH to have both optional experiences (dorsal swim and foot push swim). The experience with the dolphins was fun, we had Grace (dolphin) and she was just lovely. Lots of petting her and hands on experience. My only real critic is that the trainer didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manhattan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW

My daughter was stung by fire coral while we swam with the dolphins which really was unpleasant... but other than that the experience was so much fun. I love dolphins and this was a very close up and personal experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Province of Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The tour from the cruise ship was very expensive , however it was a long journey to get there and the entrance fees was high .I did not expect the dolphin to be on its own during the action , however another dolphin was let in as soon as the show was over . My real complaint is over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DolphinDiscovery, Community manager at Dolphin Discovery Tortola, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thanks for visiting Dolphin Discovery Tortola. Welcome to our family and we appreciate the minute you took to tell us and share your experience with us. We are pleased to know that we were part of an unforgettable experience. About the photos price is because the price is set by the market for our competitive location, we're going... More 

Oologah, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We went as a shore excursion from the cruise line. When we arrived, they gave us life jackets and divided us into groups. Each group was given a leader and then each group was lead to its spot. Each group had their own dolphins. Our leader got us into the water and told us about the dolphins and they showed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DolphinDiscovery, Community manager at Dolphin Discovery Tortola, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thanks for visiting Dolphin Discovery Tortola. Welcome to our family and we appreciate the minute you took to tell us and share your experience with us. We are pleased to know that we were part of an unforgettable experience. We're going to let General Manager know about your comments in order to improve our service. About the photos... More 

Kerteminde, Denmark
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015 via mobile

I booked a full day for 3 persons which include ferry from St Thomas, taxi to the resort and an island tour on Tortola with a stop at the beach. Price $561. They didn't pick us up at the harbour in a taxi as promised in the tourguide. After the dolphin swim, we didn't get the island tour. As we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DolphinDiscovery, Community manager at Dolphin Discovery Tortola, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thanks for visiting Dolphin Discovery Tortola. We appreciate the minute you took to tell us and share your experience with us. We are sorry about the bad experience you lived, we're going to let General Manager know about your comments in order to improve our service. I ask you please send an e-mail to our corporate to community3@dolphindiscovery.com... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 attraction reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

I booked this online months before the cruise ship arrived and as such got a 33% discount. We paid $297 for 4 of us, including lunch and a free gift. We paid $5 per person each way for the taxi from cruise pier to the dolphin centre. Before meeting the dolphins you watch a 15 min teaching video and get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Tortola, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thanks for visiting Dolphin Discovery Tortola. Welcome to our family and we appreciate the minute you took to tell us and share your experience with us. We are pleased to know that we were part an unforgettable experience. We are happy to know that your day with us was fun and full of incredible moments. Hector just want... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

First we arrived late because of the ferry. They didnt hold that against us- as you know most of these islands run on"island time"- We met our trainer Marcus and our wonderful dolphin Bolivar. We asked questions and all were answered. When Marcus didnt know the answer he called over Rocky, the other trainer and he was extremely knowledgeable. Next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Tortola, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thanks for visiting Dolphin Discovery Cancun. Welcome to our family and we appreciate the minute you took to tell us and share your experience with us. We are pleased to know that we were part an unforgettable experience. We are happy to know that you spent a very happy day with us, living incredible moments with Bolivar. We... More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

we rook our 8 year old girl and 9 year old boy and it was worth every penny. we surfed with the dolphins , played games and had one of the most memorable days of our life. Yes its not cheap but it is an experience of a lifetime and I am sure the facility costs a lot to run.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Tortola, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thanks for visiting Dolphin Discovery Tortola. Welcome to our family and we appreciate the minute you took to tell us and share your experience with us. We are pleased to know that we were part an unforgettable experience. It's amazing to know that you spent one of the happiest days of your life with us. We hope you... More 

Hamilton Square, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

My wife and I decided that this cruise, when we got to Tortola, we were going to do the Dolphin swim. It was one of the most rewarding things that we have done in our lives. Be forewarned that this experience is a bit pricey, but looking back on it, it was worth the money. You get to give the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Tortola, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thanks for visiting Dolphin Discovery Tortola. Welcome to our family and we appreciate the minute you took to tell us and share your experience with us. We are pleased to know that we were part an unforgettable experience. We are happy to know that you really enjoyed your belly ride! We hope that you had one of the... More 

Dallas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We were staying on St. Thomas and took a ferry to St. John and then Tortola. A bus then took us 15 minutes to the Dolphin Discovery place. Naturally they are in the business of selling pictures and, naturally, we bought them. We had a great time. The trainers were informative and highly skilled. You stand in the water, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Tortola, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thanks for visiting Dolphin Discovery Tortola. Welcome to our family and we appreciate the minute you took to tell us and share your experience with us. We are pleased to know that we were part an unforgettable experience. We want you to know that we love your visit and that the most important thing for us is to... More 

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Discovery Tortola also viewed

Road Town, Tortola
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Dolphin Discovery Tortola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dolphin Discovery Tortola and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Dolphin Discovery Tortola staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?