We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cheristow Lavender

Higher Cheristow, Hartland EX39 6DA, England
+44 1237 440101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Attractions in Hartland
Type: Farms
Owner description: Small family run tearoom, extensive gardens, farmshop and plant nursery on a traditional, sustainable working farm. Wholesome local, organic and... more » Owner description: Small family run tearoom, extensive gardens, farmshop and plant nursery on a traditional, sustainable working farm. Wholesome local, organic and homegrown produce feature strongly on the menu. The homemade lavender scones made with organic flour served with homemade strawberry and lavender conserve are delicious. Organic and wholefood provisions can be purchased in the farmshop. Guided farm walks, homereared rare breed Devon beef, fantastic views. « less
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

First visit for my friend & self and we arrived at the end of the lunchtime period but were able to chose from the lunch menu still. We did have to wait some time for our order but the tea room was quite busy. Lovely melted Brie & accompaniments on flatbread with salad & crisps. Generous portion so no room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Nothing special to write about, pricey food which we had to wait a age for and not many people there to cause a delay with speed of service.... Woman serving informed us no dogs allowed so had to sit outside which is fair enough as the weather was kind but we did feel It was little strange when their cat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Didn't plan this visit, but glad we found it! Lovely lavender scone, and my husband was thrilled because his gluten free scone was also just as good as an ordinary one! The secret garden was looking, and smelling wonderful from all the roses. Only open Wednesday to Saturday

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I ate at Cheristow Lavender several times during my stay in Hartland. They cook with organic or home grown ingredients. I'm vegetarian and I was impressed by the selection of food available. The carrot and celery soup with home made bread was delicius. During my stay I also tried a selection of their cakes, I really enjoyed their carrot cake,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CheristowLavender, Manager at Cheristow Lavender, responded to this review

I am so pleased you enjoyed your time at Cheristow. The French lavender is now out in flower and looks very pretty in their rows. When the English lavender starts flowering next month, it will look amazing. More

Barnstaple
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I live in North Devon and visit the lavender farm regularly. The setting is fantastic with wonderful views. The gardens are a delight and an al fresco lunch is a real treat. The homemade plate pasty made with home produced beef and the best homemade pastry. The shop is excellent with home made preserves and chutneys of the highest quality,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I've spent several afternoons over Autumn at Cheristow Lavender Tea Rooms, and was delighted by the variety of cakes and light lunches on offer there. The commitment to organic and ethically sourced food is fantastic and the creams tea is definitely the best in the UK. There are some interesting things laced with lavender on the menu and it's a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wetter, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I came here quite often during my holidays and can't say anything bad about the place. The gardens are lovely and well maintained, the staff in the tearoom is verry friendly and helpful plus the tea is lovely. I'd highly recommend this place to anybody visiting the are and would just come again to have one of the amazing Lavender... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Cheristow Lavender Farm is a really pleasant place to while away a couple of hours, tucked away in the north Devon countryside. There are lavender gardens behind the tea room, with benches to sit on and admire the view and savour the peace and tranquility, underpinned by the occasional chatter from the free range hens, ducks and geese and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CheristowLavender, Owner at Cheristow Lavender, responded to this review

Thank you Inge for your very comprehensive review. We are preparing for the summer, with a new wildflower garden, and trying to improve the existing gardens. The Devon cattle are very happy grazing in the fields. Eric is busy preparing the bullocks for the agricultural shows in the summer. We have a new rhubarb, orange and lavender chutney which tastes... More

south west
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Visited not easy to find nothing special poor service food not too bad quite pricey will not be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CheristowLavender, Owner at Cheristow Lavender, responded to this review
Google Translation

Sorry you did not enjoy your experience. More

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Unique & special place located on the coast. A refreshing change from the usual manicured garden centers. However, very disappointed with the service in the tea room - waited for 15 mins to be served. As noted in a previous review - very unfriendly/hostile waitress who spoke to us rudely. ('will be with you in a minute' but waited for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CheristowLavender, Owner at Cheristow Lavender, responded to this review

I apologise profusely for the wait you experienced in our tearooms. We have never had a bad review before, and many of our reviews mention our charming and friendly staff. We may have suddenly become very busy and being a small family business we can get overwhelmed. More

Travelers who viewed Cheristow Lavender also viewed

 

Been to Cheristow Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheristow Lavender, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing