We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Denali Outdoor Center

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Mile 238.9 Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Phone Number: 1-888-303-1925
Website
Improve this listing
Today
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Description:

Denali Outdoor Center (D.O.C.) is a full-service outfitter offering...

Denali Outdoor Center (D.O.C.) is a full-service outfitter offering whitewater rafting, mild-water float trips, kayaking, canoeing and mountain biking adventures on the boundary of Denali National Park, Alaska. We also offer lakeside nightly cabin rentals and camping at our premier location in Healy, Alaska on the shore of Otto Lake.For convenience, we have 2 office locations, one at Denali Park and the other in Healy, just 10 minutes north of the park entrance. We also provide free shuttle service to and from all local lodging, AKRR Depot, Denali Park Visitor Center and the Wilderness Access Center.Our operating season is from mid-May to mid-September and we are open 7 days from 7:00am to 10:00pm. Our winter hours are M-F 9:00am to 5:00pm Alaska Time.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 204 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 148
    Excellent
  • 37
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Had a great time

I did this rafting by myself as my wife is currently having some back problems. I am 73 years young and have done white water rafting before. I had my wife book the canyon... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed December 5, 2015
chris45ny
,
Colden, New York
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Colden, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

I did this rafting by myself as my wife is currently having some back problems. I am 73 years young and have done white water rafting before. I had my wife book the canyon paddle rafting trip for 2:00 pm on 8/14/15. This trip was booked via internet before we left home for Alaska. Cost $93.84 which included a reservation... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chris45ny
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this review

Awesome! Great review!! I'm glad you decided to do the paddle raft and get into the action!!! It sounds like everything went well and the rapids were just right. We really appreciate you sharing so much detail of your experience. I think that is very helpful for our future and potential guests. Thanks again! More 

Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

We had booked the Scenic Wilderness rafting trip for Sept. Since it was late in the season, our trip was cancelled as we were the only 2 scheduled. We could not coordinate a revised date, so they refunded our money. The owner called us to apologize, which was very nice, but we were still disappointed since this was part of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this review

Again, we want to apologize for not being able to accommodate your trip. We even checked with some of the other river outfitters to see if they had a trip available but none of them were even running that section of the river any longer. Unfortunately, the water levels were low and the air temperatures were very cold for that... More 

Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

Let me start off by saying the staff was kind. Louise was very kind and had great customer service. With some bumps in the road of our overall experience with them- I will hold true to my opinion on her customer service. That being said, broken equipment really ruined our plans in Denali. I had planned out our whole stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dee5891
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this review

First, let me start with a sincere apology and a thank you for recognizing Louise's customer service. While I think your concerns are valid to a degree, we also need to recognize a few extraneous circumstances, which were not mentioned in your review. Our business location presents some very real difficulties directly related to equipment maintenance. Although you had made... More 

Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Excellent experience and affordable. Nice people and well run operation! Be sure to bring waterproof gloves! A++++

Helpful?
Thank Brad E
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! Apparently, you didn't get to try our new water-proof gloves? I think we may have been sold out when you were here. When you're from FL, and you go rafting in AK in September, gloves could be a very good thing!! Glad to hear you had a good time regardless!!! More 

Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

We camped here overnight. Good prices, clean campground, nice people. They also offer rafting but we had to move on.

Helpful?
Thank Ted S
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review about the campground. Hopefully, you can make it back sometime and get out on the river. More 

Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

Booked an oar paddle the day before for a Sat PM. Staff got us suited up and we took bus to the put-in area close by. Rapids were pretty tame due to very low water conditions. Our guide Dylan was excellent. We had boat to ourselves and we took turns paddling. Overall a fun activity that the whole family enjoyed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this review

Great review, thank you! Dylan is a super guide and a lot of fun on the river!! Definitely come back and give it a try on the whitewater Canyon Run with higher water. Thanks again!!! More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

We hit this place totally by accident, but it was such a good experience. We did the kayak in the lake nearby, which was so peaceful, with the glacier view.

Helpful?
Thank LiroYan
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this review

Yes, thank you so much! Otto Lake is an amazing little hide-away only 10 minutes from the Denali Park entrance. We're glad you enjoyed your surprise visit!! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

This is an adventure well worth the money. I am a cheapskate and our several hour drip down the river was a blast, the suits they give you keep you nice and dry. Guides are knowledgeable.

Helpful?
Thank Grant C
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this review

Hey, thanks Grant! That's just the kind of feedback we're hoping to hear!! More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

I'm in Denali and I want to get into it! Flood was the guide on the rafting trip, (yes a raft guy named Flood, hard to forget). This guy LOVES rafting and it's contagious! Definitely go with him if possible. The river was not the most intense I've been on but worth the time and it really is beautiful. If... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elitravelbug
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this review

You nailed it! Flood is a natural and a great guide too!! Thanks for the review and we hope you have a chance to come again!!! More 

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015

We did the two hour white water rafting trip. It was our 9 year old grand- daughter's favorite excursion. Our guide was terrific. There were 8 of us on the raft (three children). Everyone had a wonderful time. The rapids were pretty mild so the the children on board were absolutely safe. Denali Raft Adventures were terrific. Our dry suits... More 

Helpful?
Thank yksy

Travelers who viewed Denali Outdoor Center also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Denali Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Denali Outdoor Center and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Denali Outdoor Center staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?