We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Day Dream Mine

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Silverton, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number: 0427885682
Website
Improve this listing

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 117 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 67
    Excellent
  • 38
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Ridgey-didge mine

You really do crawl through the mine like the miners did. Make the most of the opportunity while you can.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
Malcolm S
,
Crystal Brook, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Crystal Brook, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You really do crawl through the mine like the miners did. Make the most of the opportunity while you can.

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great guides all friendly and helpful. Very interactive . Great tour. Authentic experience . Easy to find anf would do again

Helpful?
Thank Alberto D
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Great to get a chance to go underground. The guides are great, informative and quirky. Not cheap. Would be good to have a proper student discount.

Helpful?
Thank 155ros
Bethnal58, Owner at Day Dream Mine, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed it but with any business open 7 days a week things do not come cheap especially where we live. Broken Hill people have to pay a lot more for things than our city friends. But we wouldn't have it any other way So please excuse our prices although they are on par with other tour mines More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

We saw the open sign and drove down a dirt road through a number of gates only to get to a padlocked gate after 20 minutes. Very disappointing. We checked at the visitor centre in Broken Hill and they said it was a bit misleading as they close at midday. Understatement of the century!

Helpful?
Thank Sean M
Bethnal58, Owner at Day Dream Mine, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't get to the mine. The tour times are on all the signs but we cant change the sign of the OPEN sign you seen as that is for the road only and that is for when the road is impassable due to a wet road and the Roads and Maritime Services control that Hope you... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

Unsealed roads and secure gates - the approach to Day Dream Mine does not appear as welcoming as most tourist attractions. But it is well worth the effort. Our guide (Jason?) was a laid back individual with a twisted sense of humour. But he provided us with an excellent running commentary as we walked the mine site and then went... More 

Helpful?
Thank LindsayMann
Bethnal58, Owner at Day Dream Mine, responded to this review

Great to hear from you Maybe we should make it more clear about the surface tour that goes with the tour Thank you More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015 via mobile

If you havent been down a mine before it is good to visit. Double check open times 10am and 11.30am out of school holidays. The scones beforehand are yummy and worth arriving a bit early for. The guy who takes you around is a character. Say to him..." i hear it doesnt take long before you are coughing up blood... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vivienne F
Bethnal58, Owner at Day Dream Mine, responded to this review

Thank you for your input We love having guides with a sense of humour. Sorry about the socks Some how a dirty pair must have been put into the clean bag. We rearly try to keep things in good order. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015

It is well worth the drive out to Day Dream Mine. There are two tour times. 10 and 11.30 so don't miss it. Jezz is a excellent tour guide, very informative the mines are amazing. What people did to earn a dollar back then. Make sure you leave space for the freshly baked scones and cakes.

Helpful?
Thank brad s
Bethnal58, Owner at Day Dream Mine, responded to this review

Thank you for your response we are glad you enjoyed Jezz and the scones More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

This is great to get a feel for what it was like for the miners all those years ago. The guide was good at telling a yarn - perfect for leading the tour.

Helpful?
Thank Kirralee H
Bethnal58, Owner at Day Dream Mine, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment More 

adelaide
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015 via mobile

It a bit off the Beaton track but well worth the trip, you get to put on miner's hard hat and go into a mine, wow it was amazing to see how people worked back then, the tour guide is a bit of a character, lol but so full of knowledge, this trip under ground is great for the younger... More 

Helpful?
Thank leonardo c
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

It is a long drive and when you get there it is a mighty dry and barren mine. Despite that they have the helicopter on site to tempt tourists to spend money on a very short ride and a 'tour' over the site (no unguided (unpaid)) tours. One can buy a cool drink or coffee/ tea, but it suited us... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sbadert
Bethnal58, Owner at Day Dream Mine, responded to this review

If an area doesn't get rain as with Broken Hill area it will be dry and dusty but at least we can have the opportunity to get a cold drink Not so for the old miners that walked here We cant allow the people to wander over the mine unguided as it is a mine and we aren't allowed as... More 

Travelers who viewed Day Dream Mine also viewed

Silverton, New South Wales
Silverton, New South Wales
 
Silverton, New South Wales
Silverton, New South Wales
 

Been to Day Dream Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Day Dream Mine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?