We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Washford Cross, Washford TA23 0QB, England
Phone Number: 01984 640688
Website
Today
10:30 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:30 am - 5:00 pm

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 187 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 66
    Excellent
  • 60
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 20
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
overpriced

We visited with our two kids of 3 and 6 and although we'd read the mixed reviews we thought we'd give it a try for the last day of our holiday , the guy on the gate was really... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed April 13, 2015
Matt S
,
Devizes, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015 NEW

Plenty of animals that were interesting. Good refreshment menu, and reasonable prices. The radio museum is in the entrance, and it was very interesting looking at all the old equipment. The talk on the parrots was good as they did tricks, and we got to stroke a skunk and hedgehog! Good fun, we were there for a good 3 or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015 NEW

We visited with our two kids of 3 and 6 and although we'd read the mixed reviews we thought we'd give it a try for the last day of our holiday , the guy on the gate was really friendly and the kids enjoyed doing the easter egg quiz with the cream egg on completion being a nice touch ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
smudgesmate, Owner at Tropiquaria Zoo, responded to this review

If you didn't have time to stay for the puppet show then you would also miss the 3.00pm animal encounters, the meerkat talk, the lemur talk and the gibbon talk.That perhaps might be referred as a lot more things to do, so it does seem to be a bit unfair to say that there isn't much to do when you... More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

We went to tropiquaria today with our two year old and we were most disappointed. It cost over £40 for four adults and we were only there for an hour. We felt as though it was a very overpriced children's play area with a few animals thrown in. Definitely won't be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
smudgesmate, Owner at Tropiquaria Zoo, responded to this review

Just over an hour means that you have missed out on much of what we had to offer and on which you had been told,and given details of in print, when you entered. Puppet Show 20 minutes, ferret racing 15 minutes, animal encounters 3x20 minutes (each one different), bird feeding 5 minutes, Otter talk, gibbon talk, meerkat talk, lemur talk... More 

Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

This place has much improved since our last visits. We moved here nearly 6 years ago and the puppet show was always the same- it's finally changed!!! I much preferred the old one but it's nice to see they've put an effort into changing it. Some animals or enclosures have also changed I hope the ships stay when the new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Excellent attraction. Our whole family loved it (5 year old, 3 year old & 1 year old). Plenty to see and do. Would be good all weather attraction, although we had a lovely sunny day. This was the best day out of our holiday. Thanks to the friendly staff. My husband even held a snake, and the children all got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

I went to Tropiquaria today and had an amazing day! All the animals looked really relaxed and were enjoying the sun as was I as you can have your lunch on a terras with a view on the children playing on the ships. The animal talks were great! I learned a lot about the animals that they used during the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bulford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Save your money and go elsewhere. Fair enough you can't change the exterior of the building but maintenance on the inside would be good. The place looks like it's falling down, it has very few animals (and no you can not say that you have over X amount of fish so can't see where I am coming from).the " aquarium... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

From the outside the place looks like Chernobyl, the outside play areas are rundown. All the animal enclosures are in a poor condition. With the aminals looking depressed and bored. You had to walk over wet grass to some enclosures as there was no pathway. Inside was one room with birds flying free and animals around the edges in small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
smudgesmate, Owner at Tropiquaria Zoo, responded to this review

It is always difficult to reply to reviews that are so excessive in their loathing as this one. Hopefully most readers will also read two or three other reviews to get a more balanced view. Personally I have never seen Chernobyl, or what remains of it, and I notice that it is not reviewed on TA. We do have a... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Great place to visit! Animals are clearly well looked after and staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable. New developments underway to make the place even better. Wide range of animals all with unique backgrounds. Amazing place for all ages, will be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
England
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

The chap on the entrance gate was friendly and helpful. The outdoor pirate ships were great to play on and would be even better when warm enough to spend more time out there and play in the sand pit. Nice range of animals in the outside enclosures, and an indoor play area too (not soft play, a wooden structure), my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed Tropiquaria Zoo also viewed

Watchet, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Tropiquaria Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tropiquaria Zoo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?