We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Geko Dive

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Jalan Silayukti | Padang Bai, Padangbai, Bali 80872, Indonesia
Phone Number: +62 363 41516
Website
Improve this listing
Today
7:00 am - 7:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 7:00 pm
Description: Geko Dive first opened in June 1997. It is the longest operating dive...
Geko Dive first opened in June 1997. It is the longest operating dive centre in Padang Bai. Geko Dive has been a PADI Resort since 1998, and is now a PADI 5 Star Resort and TecRec facility. We are fortunate to have one of Bali's best dive staff. Together, the Geko Dive Team can guide and teach in Balinese, English, French, German, Spanish, Indonesian and Japanese. All of our dive guides are excellent divers, with years of working experience on Bali's dive sites. At the same time, SCUBA remains a passion first and foremost. Diving with Geko Dive has always been fun and serene. To make sure that it stays this way, we are not planning to get any bigger than we already are. Dive factories and diving in large herds are not things that the Geko Dive Team enjoys. Diving should be a personal experience! We therefore keep dive groups small (4 max and often less), with similarly experienced divers together. We believe all our guests deserve the ultimate diving adventure with utmost enjoyment and safety.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 206 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 164
    Excellent
  • 33
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Great dive centre

We were recommended by a friend and it did not disappoint. They were very helpful and our dive instructor was lovely. He took us for our open water license and then to the wreck... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 27, 2015
Katie S
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this attraction
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 NEW

We were recommended by a friend and it did not disappoint. They were very helpful and our dive instructor was lovely. He took us for our open water license and then to the wreck dive further north and he was fantastic. They mixed the pictures up on our PADI cards but when they were made aware of this they corrected... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
amersfoort
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

Unfortunately we did not dive with Geko Dive Because I Suffered from earproblems the day of the planned trip . Still I would like to share my good impressions of this dive center . They organize tips to dive spots not every dive center visits.This make them more Suitable for experienced divers with special wishes . For this reason I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

This diveshop has all the facillities for a few days out diving. Friendly management , good local diveguides with respect for marinelife (they spot almost everything) Boats are well equiped and the crew is very helpfull and friendly and make you feel safe. The dive equipment is well maintaned, At the shop there is a dressing room, shower & towel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

The crew at Geko Dive went out of their way to help - both when we were on dives with them, and when we were making plans to eat, sight-see and hang out in the small fishing village of Padang Bai. James (the owner) goes out of his way to help and ensure that you are able to make the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GekoDiveBali, Manager at Geko Dive, responded to this review

Dear Penny, Thank you for leaving a review. It was great having you here in Padang Bai, both for diving and out of the water. I really appreciated the way that your delayed flight due to the eruption of the Raung volcano was turned into an opportunity to enjoy more great times in Bali. You guys definitely get thumbs up... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

I initially went to Padangbai for 3 days of diving...I somehow ended up coming 2 more times in 2 weeks! These guys became like my family. The diving is beautiful in Bali but it helps if you have someone who knows what they're looking for. And with so many affordable and incredible dive spots to choose from you'll understand why... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GekoDiveBali, Manager at Geko Dive, responded to this review

Hi Charlotte, Oh Lordylordylord! What a review?!? I guess you really loved your time with us. I had guessed that much as you kept on coming back for more. And, guess what? We loved having you here and all feelings are reciprocated. As for Rico, well, he is one of a kind indeed. He is a great member of the... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We picked up Geko Dive because reviews were overall pretty nice. At the end, I am happy about my dives as we saw over 12 mantas. However in details, service was just very average: lack of briefing on weather (very cold water), no sea sick pills sharing (first time I see a dive club not having pills on board), very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GekoDiveBali, Manager at Geko Dive, responded to this review

Dear Franck, Thanks a lot for leaving a review and giving us feedback. The Geko Dive Team is glad that you enjoyed your dives thoroughly and encountered more than 12 manta rays. They are fantastic creatures and we never bore of watching them. On the other hand, it's disappointing to hear that you were not fully satisfied with our services... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

I spent nine days diving with these guys in June, James and the gang were very professional to dive with, safety is always paramount with these guys, their facilities are great, food is great and the most important thing is having fun, there is always a smiling face and someone have a laugh, I would highly recommend Geko Dive they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GekoDiveBali, Manager at Geko Dive, responded to this review

Hi Damien, Thanks for leaving a 5 star review for us. Over the years, you have become much more than a guest or friend. You are now a family member. The entire Geko Dive Team looks forward to having you with us and train you to become a great Divemaster in your own right. Take good car of yourself... And... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

We only came in for a quick 2 day jaunt with these guys during our Bali road trip, but they get high marks. Cedric and the Managment were very accommodating, and made our stay as no hassle as it gets. Hotel, diving and all. Made, our guide, was very easy going and he made sure we got the dive spots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GekoDiveBali, Manager at Geko Dive, responded to this review

Dear mgmonk, Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about our services to the world. I have passed your compliments onto your dive guide, Made. He is a great guy all around and a valued team member, who gets a lot of positive feedback from our valued guests. I hope you have the luxury of giving more time... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

We came to Geko to do our PADI Advanced Open Water course after reading good reviews on here; and we weren't disappointed. Rico, our Dive Instructor could not have been more welcoming or helpful. So we felt as safe as possible when we start. The friendliness, the professionalism and the ever-present smiles of staffs in Geko Dive Centre is what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GekoDiveBali, Manager at Geko Dive, responded to this review

Dear MarkoPaolo, Thanks for letting the world know how outstanding your dive experience with Geko Dive was. We'll let Rico know how much you enjoyed his company and instruction. Glad you also enjoyed our friendly, smiling atmosphere: beyond safety, having a great time together with our guests is a priority! Congratulations again on your course's completion and come back soon... More 

San Diego
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

We dove 3 days with Gecko. We dove with two different dive guilds. Rico was very new & was just ok to dive with. A little on the crude side, peeing off the front of the boat instead of jumping into the water & discreetly peeing along the side of the boat at one point. Our second dive guild was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GekoDiveBali, Manager at Geko Dive, responded to this review

Dear CindyHolingshead, Thanks a lot for leaving a review. We've taken your comments into account and made sure the issue you mentioned would not re-occur in the future. It's a pity we were not made aware of any issue at the time of your visit as we would have been happy to find a solution there and then. In any... More 

Travelers who viewed Geko Dive also viewed

 

Been to Geko Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Geko Dive and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 month ago
Bali
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Geko Dive staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?